Scott Limbaugh named Dave Williams Nat. Coach of the Year
06 Jun 2017
by Golf Coaches Association of America

Vanderbilt head coach Scott Limbaugh <br>(Golfweek Photo)
Vanderbilt head coach Scott Limbaugh
(Golfweek Photo)

ATLANTA, GA (June 6, 2017) - The GCAA in conjunction with Golf Pride Grips today announced the six outstanding collegiate golf coaches receiving the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award presented by Golf Pride Grips. Golf Pride Grips will present the coaches with their awards during the Hall of Fame Banquet at the GCAA National Convention on December 11.

Scott Limbaugh, Vanderbilt (Division I), West Florida’s Steve Fell (Division II), David Schreyer of Huntingdon (Division III), Grand View’s Chris Winkel (NAIA), Rob Murray of Indian Hills (NJCAA Division I), and Ronnie Ross of Copiah-Lincoln (NJCAA Division II) earned coach of the year honors for 2017. Golf Pride Grips Region and District Coaches of the Year were also named.

Since his arrival prior to the 2012 campaign, Limbaugh has quickly established Vanderbilt’s program as one of the nation’s best. The Commodores captured the SEC Championship for the first time in program history and won the prestigious Nike Collegiate Invitational. PING First-Team All-America selection Patrick Martin and Matthias Schwab earned First-Team All-SEC honors, Theo Humphrey landed on the All-SEC Second Team and John Augenstein became Vanderbilt’s first SEC Freshman of the Year honoree. Limbaugh’s charges qualified for a fourth-consecutive NCAA Championship finals, placing first in the stroke-play portion of the championship and advancing to the semifinals in match play.

Fell is in his 23rd year at the helm at West Florida. In 2016-17, the Argonauts won a school-record eight tournaments, including their fourth NCAA Regional, before finishing third overall at the NCAA Championships. West Florida spent six rankings atop the Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll, including the last five of the regular season. UWF set a pair of single-season records with a 284.39 stroke average - a year removed from a 288.58 mark. Argonaut Chandler Blanchet won the Arnold Palmer National Individual Champion Award for earning medalist honors at the NCAA Division II Championships and was named Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol recipient.

Schreyer and Huntingdon were ranked first for much of the season in the Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll. It placed first in five tournaments and finished in the top four in all 10 events. The Hawks averaged 290.44 per round, almost seven strokes better than the team’s 297.37 average in 2016. Schreyer was tabbed USA South Athletic Conference Coach of the Year while Addison Lambeth was named USA South Golfer of the Year and PING First-Team All-America. Joining Lambeth as PING All-Region selections were Will Thrash, Chad Ring and Stephen Shephard.

Winkel is in his 14th season as head golf coach at Grand View. Under his leadership, the Viking men’s golf program has grown to be one of the top programs in the nation, winning the NAIA National Championship title in 2017. Winkel led the Vikings to nine national tournament appearances in 2006, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2107, never finishing outside the top 12. Grand View has won six straight Midwest Collegiate Conference Championships along with two straight Heart of America Athletic Conference Championships.

Murray is in his second season at Indian Hills Community College. The Warriors were ranked first or shared No. 1 in the final seven regular season rankings of the Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll. Indian Hills won six tournaments this season, the Mt. Mercy Fall Classic, Dodge City CC Shootout, TaylorMade adidas Intercollegiate, Eagle Spring Classic, Southwest Kansas Shootout, and the NJCAA District III Championship. The Warriors were runner-up in their six remaining tournaments. Jackson Bugdalski and Ricky Sanders were PING First-Team All-America Selections while Jakub Bares was an honorable mention selection. Sanders was also named recipient of the Phil Mickelson Outstanding Freshman Award.

In his 16th season at the helm, Copiah-Lincoln Community College golf coach Ronny Ross has led the Wolfpack golf team to another successful season. The team won the 2017 NJCAA District D Golf Championship along with two additional team titles. It was runner-up in three events and only placed outside the top six once this season. Ross is a member of the PGA of America Gulf States Section. He also serves as director of golf operations at Wolf Hollow Golf Course in Wesson, Miss.

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram