It's down to four teams at NCAA Women's Championship
Albane Valenzuela and Stanford are closing in on a third straight trip <br>to the title match <br>(Stanford Athletics Photo)
Albane Valenzuela and Stanford are closing in on a third straight trip
to the title match
(Stanford Athletics Photo)

SUGAR GROVE, Illinois (May 23, 2017) – After stroke play narrowed down the competition to eight teams –the competition transitioned into match play. Stanford and USC are currently in the lead of their respective semifinal bouts.

At the start of the day, eight teams still had dreams of winning the Division one title. Stanford, Arizona State, Northwestern, USC, Baylor, Florida, Kent St. and Ohio State began match play at Rich Harvest Farms golf course.

The seeding was as follows: Northwestern, Stanford, ASU, OSU, USC, Florida, Baylor, Kent State.

No. 1 seed Northwestern escaped an upset by defeating Kent State University with a score of 3-2-0. Stanford and Baylor faced off next with Stanford winning 3-2-0. Arizona State University faced The University of Florida where ASU emerged victorious with a clean sweep of all five players. Finally, No. 5 USC upset No. 4 with a final score of 3-1-1.

In the semifinals, No. 2 Stanford is facing No. 3 ASU with a score of 3-1-1 in favor of Stanford.

"It was definitely a fight," said Anne Walker on their first round bout with Baylor in a Stanford Athletics press release. Walker is the Director of Women's Golf. "They made us work hard and I'm glad they did. With so many freshmen (three), you saw how deep we had to dig."

No. 5 USC leads Northwestern 4-1-0.

Due to darkness, the completion of the semifinals has been postponed until tomorrow morning.

Results: NCAA Division I Women's Championship
1ORMonica VaughnReedsport, OR150074-72-71=217
T2IrelandLeona MaguireIreland100077-71-70=218
T2COJennifer KupchoDenver, CO100074-70-74=218
T4BelgiumElodie van DievoetBelgium70072-79-68=219
T4FLAugust KimSt. Augustine, FL70072-73-74=219

View full results for NCAA Division I Women's Championship

ABOUT THE NCAA Division I Women's Championship

24 teams and 12 individuals not on a qualifying team make up the field for the championship of NCAA Division I women's golf.

After 72 holes of stroke play, the individual champion is crowned, and the low 8 teams advance to match play to determine the team champion.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram