Mullen wins Russell C. Palmer Cup with Back Nine 30
Monte Mullen with the Russell C. Palmer Cup Trophy
Monte Mullen with the Russell C. Palmer Cup Trophy

WATERBURY, CT (May 23, 2017) - Monte Mullen of TPC River Highlands used a final-nine 30, including three birdies on the final four holes, to win the Russell C. Palmer Cup by one shot over Eric Dietrich of The Farms.

Eighty-nine of Connecticut’s best amateur golfers gathered at the Country Club of Waterbury for the 14th playing of the Russell C. Palmer Cup. Named for Russell C. Palmer, former CSGA Executive Director (1986-1995) and inductee into the Connecticut Golf Hall of Fame (1997), the Palmer Cup is the Connecticut Stroke Play Championship.

Mullen had shared the lead after an opening round even-par 69, but stumbled to a 78 in round two to fall a seemingly insurmountable eight shots behind David Giuletti. But a seven-birdie performance (all on par fours) produced the low round of the tournament, a three-under 66 that delivered the title.

Dietrich finished solo second at 74-68-72--214. Tied for third at 215 were Kyle Nolin and Dave Szewczul.

Nolin was seeking to win his second CSGA major championship in as many years, having captured the Connecticut Public Links Championship last summer.

Szewczul was attempting to complete his collection of CSGA championships, having won every other state championship except for the Palmer Cup. Last year he won both the CSGA mid-amateur and senior and was named Connecticut Senior Player of the Year for the seventh time.

This is Mullen's second Conecticut State Golf Association (CSGA) title, having previously won the Connecticut Junior Amateur in 2010. Mullen, who worked for the CSGA as the USGA P.J. Boatwright Intern last summer, lost in a playoff for the Palmer Cup title to Blake Morris in 2014.

The 2017 Russell C. Palmer Cup marks the ninth time that the Country Club of Waterbury has hosted the event. In addition to hosting the Palmer Cup, the CC of Waterbury has also hosted ten Connecticut Amateur Championships and the 2005 Connecticut Open Championship. The club was originally founded in 1899 and the present Championship course was designed and completed in 1929 by renowned architect Donald Ross.

View results for Russell C. Palmer Cup
ABOUT THE Russell C. Palmer Cup

Named for Connecticut Golf Hall of Fame member (1997) and former CSGA Executive Director (1986-1995) who bears the same name, the Russell C. Palmer Cup is the Connecticut stroke play championship. A few of Palmer’s numerous accomplishments include establishing the use of GHIN throughout CSGA member clubs and initiating the construction of the Conn. Golf House which houses the CSGA and Conn. Section PGA.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram