Wolniewicz and Clark win New York Men’s Four-Ball
Jeff Wolniewicz and Jonathan Clark, the New York Four-Ball champions<br>(NYSGA photo)
Jeff Wolniewicz and Jonathan Clark, the New York Four-Ball champions
(NYSGA photo)

COOPERSTOWN, New York (May 22, 2017) – Starting the final round in a tie for fifth place and three strokes behind the lead, Jeff Wolniewicz and Jonathan Clark fired a -7 65 to come from behind and win the annual New York State Men’s Four-Ball Championship.

This was nothing new for Wolniewicz and Clark. Wolniewicz won the event last year and Clark won the in 2013.

With six birdies on the back nine Wolniewicz and Clark surged up the leaderboards and gave themselves a one stroke victory.

Wolniewicz and Clark barely beat out Jim Gifford and Daniel Russo as well as Billy Hanes and David Hanes for first. Gifford and Russo shot 68-66 and the Hanes’ shot 68-66 as well.

As for the Senior division, Robert Branham and Kevin Webb bounced back after a first round 70 to shoot a 66 in the final round to claim the Senior Division title by two strokes.

James Castle and Steve wall finished in a tie for second with Jim Rogers and Donald Van Gorder – both pairs finished with -6 138.

To make matters interesting, Kevin Webb eagled the 14th hole – a 254-yard par-4. That shot was the pairs turning point as they rattled off three consecutive birdies afterwards.

View results for New York Four-Ball

ABOUT THE New York Four-Ball

The format of this championship is 36 holes of four- ball stroke play. Entries are open to teams consisting of two (2) male amateur golfers. Both entrants must be members of the NYSGA and have an active Handicap Index issued by a golf club which is licensed to use the USGA Handicap System.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram