Greg Smith wins the Oakland City Championship
2017 Oakland City winner Greg Smith <br>(Lake Chabot Golf Club Photo)
2017 Oakland City winner Greg Smith
(Lake Chabot Golf Club Photo)

OAKLAND, CA (May 7, 2017) - With rounds of 72-65 and a tally of 137 Greg Smith has won the Oakland City Championship. Playing at Lake Chabot Golf Club Smith rallied on the final day as he overcame a two-stroke deficit to defeat two-time defending champion Ryan Sloane (67-71--138) by a shot.

Michael O'Brien (72-71--143) was third while Evan Peterson (71-76--147) and Marcus Potter (74-73--147) shared fourth.

In the Senior Division the title went to Scott Anderson (68-73--141) as he finished six shots in front of runner-up Ronald Johnson (70-77--147).

Results: Oakland City
1CAGreg SmithCA7572-65=137
2CARyan SloaneCampbell, CA5067-71=138
3CAMike O'BrienRoseville, CA2572-71=143
T4ORMarcus PotterTualatin, OR2574-73=147
T4CAEvan PetersonClovis, CA2571-76=147

View full results for Oakland City

ABOUT THE Oakland City

NCGA points event. 36 hole stroke play over two days. Gross flights for men (7.4 max handicap) and senior men (9.4 max handicap), and Net flights for higher handicaps. Tournament dates back to 1923 the year the course opened. Notable past winners include British Open Champion and San Leandro native Tony Lema.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram