Sam O'Dell captures the Fox Puss Invitational
Fox Puss Invitational winner Sam O'Dell <br>(Twitter Photo)
Fox Puss Invitational winner Sam O'Dell
(Twitter Photo)

LYNCHBURG, VA (May 7, 2017) - Sam O'Dell was the only player to finish under-par and as a result he is the winner of the Fox Puss Invitational hosted by Boonsboro Country Club.

O'Dell, 2-over after the first round, put together a pair of 2-under 69's on Saturday and Sunday to finish 2-under for the tournament and as the three-stroke winner. 1-over for the final round after 11-holes, O'Dell took control of the tournament with four birdies over the course of the next five holes.

Scott Shingler and Justin Young shared second at even-par while in a tie for fourth it was Connor Burgess, Steve Serrao and Jimmy Delp at 2-over.


Leon Roday took home the Senior Division title with a 1-under showing. Roday, the winner by four, tallied a 1-under 70 during a final round that was highlighted by a hole-in-one on the 145 yard par-3 5th.

Phillip Mahone and James Angel shared second at 3-over.


Bob Rotella cruised to the Super Senior Division title with a 3-over showing that left him seven shots in front of runner-up Bob Yow.

Rotella combined rounds of 73-71-72 and he birdied four-times during his final round.


Phillip Reale; David Schmidt (Championship First Flight), Michael Barber; Chris Boswell (Championship Second Flight), Parker See (Championship Third Flight), Brent Riley (Championship Fourth Flight), Daniel Yates; Neil Davis (Senior First Flight), Jack Allara II; Tim Vigotsky (Senior Second Flight), Greg Kozy (Senior Third Flight), Garland Gentry (Senior Fourth Flight)

View results for Fox Puss Invitational

ABOUT THE Fox Puss Invitational

54 hole stroke play format tournament was given the name “FOX PUSS” to honor two of Boonsboro’s members that for many years had devoted their talents and time to amateur golf in the State of Virginia and the Lynchburg area, Mr. H. M. “Fox” Blankinship and Mr. Charles “Puss” Hancock. Both of these gentlemen were former Presidents of the Virginia State Golf Association. This is the ruling body for Amateur golf within the State of Virginia. Additionally, Mr. Hancock was a long term President of Boonsboro Country Club.

The first tournament was held late in 1971 and has continued each year. While we have had to cancel the tournament three times over the years, we have been able to retain a high level of competition for the contestants. Our Champions and contestants have been State Amateur Champions; United States Amateur Champion; British Amateur Champion; and Walker Cup Members.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram