USGA to change Walker Cup Mid-Amateur Requirements
18 Apr 2017
by AmateurGolf.com Staff

see also: The Walker Cup, Seminole Golf Club

Team USA captain Spider Miller <br>(USGA Photo)
Team USA captain Spider Miller
(USGA Photo)

FAR HILLS, NJ (April 18, 2017) - As first reported by Global Golf Post on Monday, the USGA is prepared to move away from its two mid-amateur Walker Cup minimum.

Instead they will commit to at least one mid- amateur, while leaving open the possibility of additional mid-amateurs to qualify for the team.

The commitment to two mid-amateurs began in 2013 at the National Golf Links in Southampton, NY with Nathan Smith and Todd White representing the mid-am game. Both players performed exceptionally well in 2013 with White earning the point that clinched at least a tie and Smith earning the matches clinching point in a 17-9 Team USA victory.

However, in 2015 things didn't go as well for mid-amateurs Scott Harvey and Mike McCoy, as the duo combined for just one point during a 16.5-9.5 loss at Royal Lytham & St Annes. With that said the entire USA team struggled, thus neither player can be blamed for the loss.

Speaking to Golf Channel Team USA captain Spider Miller, a two-time U.S. Mid-Amateur winner, supported the rule stressing that it is important to have flexibility based on the number of mid-amateur candidates.

This year the candidates appear to be probable lock Stewart Hagestad, Walker Cup practice participant Scott Harvey, Todd White and Nathan Smith.

“Given the level of play and how good the mid- amateur pool is,” Spider Miller said to Golf Channel, “I expect there will be two on this team.”

-Global Golf Post and Golf Channel contributed to this story

ABOUT THE The Walker Cup

The Walker Cup Match is a biennial 10-man amateur team competition between the USA and a team composed of players from Great Britain and Ireland and selected by The R&A. It is played over two days with 18 singles matches and eight foursomes (alternate-shot) matches.

The first United States Walker Cup Team, which in 1922 defeated the GB&I side, 8-4, at the National Golf Links of America, is considered among the best teams ever and included Francis Ouimet, Bob Jones, Charles “Chick” Evans and Jess Sweetser. Many of the game’s greatest players have taken part in Walker Cup competition, including U.S. Open champions Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth for the USA and Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose for Great Britain and Ireland.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram