Maverick McNealy, Jared du Toit among Finalists for Byron Nelson Award
Arizona State's Jared du Toit <br>(Arizona State Athletics Photo)
Arizona State's Jared du Toit
(Arizona State Athletics Photo)

NORMAN, OK (March 22, 2017) -- The Golf Coaches Association of America has announced finalists for the 2017 Byron Nelson Award presented by Srixon/Cleveland Golf, in cooperation with the Four Seasons Resort and Club Las Colinas and the Salesmanship Club of Dallas.

The finalists are Jared du Toit of Arizona State, Saint John’s (MN) Mack Farley, Auburn’s Matt Gilchrest, Maverick McNealy of Stanford and Virginia’s Jimmy Stanger.

_______________________________________ ___

Jared du Toit- The Arizona State star has had an impressive spring season thus far winning the Prestige at PGA West and also finishing runner-up at the Amer Ari Invitational following a playoff. Over the summer du Toit made national headlines when he finished tied for 10th at the RBC Canadian Open.

Mack Farley- Playing for Division III Saint John's (MN), Farley picked up a win at the 2016 Twin Cities Classic and has also recorded four other top-15 finishes.

Matt Gilchrest- With three top- 20 finishes so far this year Gilchrest is completing an impressive career at Auburn. In 2015 he was an All-SEC first-teamer and a member of the Ben Hogan Award Watch List.

Maverick McNealy- During the fall McNealy won the 11th tournament of his memorable Stanford career at the Nike Collegiate and he is currently tied with Tiger Woods and Patrick Rodgers for the most wins all-time in program history. For the season, McNealy has recorded three top-20 finishes and he is currently the second ranked player in the World Amateur Golf Rankings.

Jimmy Stanger- Along with recently making his PGA Tour debut at the Valspar Championship, Stanger has put together another stellar season for Virginia. Stanger shared medalist honors in the fall at the Golf Club of Georgia Collegiate and overall he has four top-10 finishes this season.
_______________________________________ ___

Candidates for the Nelson Award must be a graduating senior and the selection committee considers equally a nominee’s entire collegiate academic and golf career as well as his character and integrity while in college.

Particular consideration will be given to a nominee’s good citizenship, as portrayed by Mr. Byron Nelson over the course of his life and golf career.

ABOUT THE Byron Nelson Award

The purpose of the Byron Nelson Award is to select annually the outstanding Division I, II, III, or NAIA scholar-athlete of the year. The recipient, a graduating senior, is recognized for their achievement in the classroom, on the course, and in their community.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube