2017 Arnold Palmer Cup Teams Announced
ORLANDO, FL (March 16, 2017) -- The Arnold Palmer Cup teams for both Europe and the United States were announced today during the opening round of the Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill Club & Lodge. The annual Ryder Cup-style competition will be played June 9-11 at Atlanta Athletic Club.

When play begins Europe will be looking for their second consecutive title after winning the 2016 edition at Formby Golf Club.

Texas Tech and Sweden’s Hannes Ronneblad and Fredrik Nilehn, Kristoffer Ventura of Oklahoma State (Norway), Jacksonville’s David Wicks (England) Harry Ellis of Florida State (England) and Missouri’s Rory Fransson (Scotland) qualified for Team Europe by finishing in the top six of the Arnold Palmer Cup Player Ranking.

Committee selections were Maynooth’s Stuart Grehan (Ireland) and Viktor Hovland of Oklahoma State (Norway). Richard Mansell of Nova Southeastern (England) was David Inglis’ coach’s pick. The final member of the team will be the winner of The R&A Foundation Scholars Tournament, which will be contested April 3-4.

Grehan is the only returning member from Europe’s victorious squad last season. Wicks is the first Arnold Palmer Cup participant from Jacksonville while Fransson is the first representative from Missouri. Team Europe represents only five countries in 2017, the fewest since 2011.

The six United States players determined by the ranking included Sam Burns of LSU, Texas A&M’s Chandler Phillips, Collin Morikawa of California, Virginia’s Jimmy Stanger, Stanford’s Maverick McNealy and Oregon’s Norman Xiong. John Coultas of Florida Southern, Southern California’s Sean Crocker and Illinois’ Nick Hardy were committee selections.

Coultas was the designated non-Division I player. Doug Ghim of Texas was John Fields' coach’s pick.

McNealy represented the United States in 2015 and was selected compete in 2016. When McNealy withdrew from the 2016 event, Doug Ghim was added to Team USA.


Arnold Palmer Cup Ranking Selections
Hannes Ronneblad, Texas Tech - Sweden
Fredrik Nilehn, Texas Tech - Sweden
Kristoffer Ventura, Oklahoma State - Norway
David Wicks, Jacksonville - England
Harry Elllis, Florida State - England
Rory Franssen, Missouri - Scotland

Commitee Selections
Stuart Grehan, Maynooth - Ireland
Viktor Hovland, Oklahoma State - Norway

Coach’s Pick
Richard Mansell, Nova Southeastern - England

The R&A Foundation Scholars Tournament Champion Contested April 3-4 at St. Andrews

Head Coach - David Inglis, Northwestern - Scotland
Assistant Coach - Alan Murray, Washington - Ireland

United States

Arnold Palmer Cup Ranking Selections
Sam Burns, LSU
Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M
Collin Morikawa, California
Jimmy Stanger, Virginia
Mavierck McNealy, Stanford
Norman Xiong, Oregon

Commitee Selections
John Coultas, Florida Southern
Sean Crocker, Southern California
Nick Hardy, Illinois

Coach’s Pick
Doug Ghim, Texas

Head Coach - John Fields, Texas
Assistant Coach - Andrew DiBitetto, North Carolina

ABOUT THE Palmer Cup

The annual Ryder Cup-style competition features top men and women collegiate players from the United States against their International counterparts.

Each team will be comprised of 12 men's and 12 women's golfers. Day one will feature Mixed Four-Ball competition, day two will see Mixed Foursomes in the morning and Four-Ball in the afternoon, with 24 singles matches on the final day.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube