2017 Ben Hogan Watch List Announced
FORT WORTH, TX (February 8, 2017) -- On Wednesday the Colonial Country Club, the Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) announced the 28 player 2017 Ben Hogan Watch List.

Headlining the list is World Amateur Golf Ranking No. 1 Maverick McNealy. The Stanford senior has been a finalist each of the last two years and he is joined by repeat nominees Sean Crocker, Nick Hardy, Rico Hoey, 2016 semifinalist Sam Horsfield, Matthias Schwab and Will Zalatoris.

In addition to McNealy; Hoey and Zalatoris are on the watch list for the third straight season.

The entire Watch List Includes:

Sam Burns (LSU, Sophomore)

Cameron Champ (Texas A&M, Junior)

Wyndham Clark (Oregon, Senior)

Sean Crocker (USC, Junior)

Jared du Toit (Arizona State, Senior)

Jorge Garcia (Florida, Sophomore)

Doug Ghim (Texas, Junior)

Gavin Hall (Texas, Senior)

Nick Hardy (Illinois, Junior)

Rico Hoey (USC, Senior)

Sam Horsfield (Florida, Sophomore)

Viktor Hovland (Oklahoma State, Freshman)

Will Long (Auburn, Senior)

Patrick Martin (Vanderbilt, Sophomore)

Maverick McNealy (Stanford, Senior)

Dylan Meyer (Illinois, Junior)

Collin Morikawa (California, Sophomore)

John Oda (UNLV, Junior)

Chandler Phillips (Texas A&M, Sophomore)

Doc Redman (Clemson, Freshman)

Scottie Scheffler (Texas, Junior)

Matthias Schwab (Vanderbilt, Senior)

Greyson Sigg (Georgia, Senior)

Jimmy Stanger (Virginia, Senior)

Sam Stevens (Oklahoma State, Junior)

Braden Thornberry (Ole Miss, Sophomore)

Alejandro Tosti (Florida, Junior)

Will Zalatoris (Wake Forest, Junior)

On Wednesday, April 12th the semifinalists for the Ben Hogan Watch List will be announced before the three finalist are announced on Wednesday, May 3rd. The winner will be announced on Monday, May 22nd at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas prior to the start of the Dean & DeLuca Invitational .

The Ben Hogan Award was first awarded in 1990 and some the former winners include D.J. Trahan (Clemson, 2002), Ricky Barnes (Arizona, 2003), Hunter Mahan (Oklahoma State, 2003), Bill Haas (Wake Forest, 2004), Ryan Moore (UNLV, 2005), Matt Every (Florida, 2006), Chris Kirk (Georgia, 2007), Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State, 2008), Kyle Stanley (Clemson, 2009), Nick Taylor (Washington, 2010), Peter Uihlein (Oklahoma State, 2011), Patrick Cantlay (UCLA, 2012), Chris Williams (Washington, 2013), Patrick Rodgers (Stanford, 2014) and Jon Rahm (Arizona State, 2015, 2016).

-Information for this article was provided by The Ben Hogan Award

ABOUT THE Ben Hogan Award

The Ben Hogan Award is given annually to honor the best college golf player in the United States. Since 2005, the award winner is named at a ceremony prior to the PGA Tour event at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, and is invited to the following year's tournament.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube