National Senior-Junior: Mike McCoy and John Engler win in playoff
Champions Mike McCoy (L) and John Engler (R) <br>(Photo Courtesy of Nick Erlichman)
Champions Mike McCoy (L) and John Engler (R)
(Photo Courtesy of Nick Erlichman)

JUPITER, FL (January 11, 2017) -- For the second consecutive year the National Senior-Junior hosted by The Dye Preserve went to a playoff. In the playoff the duo of Mike McCoy and John Engler were able to outlast the team of Arnold Cutrell and Darin Kowalski on the second playoff hole.

McCoy, the 2013 U.S. Mid-Amateur winner, and Engel started the final day one-stroke behind but used a final round 64 in the closing day Scramble to reach the 199 number that put them into the playoff. McCoy and Engel started the week with a Best-Ball 68 and a Pinehurst Format 67.

2016 Crump Cup quarterfinalist Arnold Cutrell and Darin Kowalski reached the playoff with scores of 69-67-63.

Thanks to final round 60 John Pickett and Matt Broome placed third with a 54-hole total of 200. There was a log jam for fourth place as Steve Harwell and Scott Harvey (71-67-63--201), Matt Sughrue and Seth Sargent (69-68-64--201) and 36-hole leaders Tommy Brennan and Patrick Christovich (69-65-67--201) shared the spot.

View results for National Senior Junior

ABOUT THE National Senior Junior

Mid Amateur, Senior Amateur. Unique three-format 54 hole invitational features a "junior" (mid am) and a senior paired together. There is also a Legends division that pairs legends and super seniors. Started in 1991 by some Society of Seniors members, the tournament is played on a wonderful course re-done by Pete Dye. One round each of Best-Ball, Scramble, and Pinehurst format.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube