VIDEO: A look at Team USA's Walker Cup practice session
21 Dec 2016
by AmateurGolf.com Staff

see also: The Walker Cup, Seminole Golf Club

Spirits were high all weekend long at LACC <br>(USGA Photo)
Spirits were high all weekend long at LACC
(USGA Photo)

LOS ANGELES, CA (December 21, 2016) -- Last weekend 16 Team USA 2017 Walker Cup hopefuls teed it up at Los Angeles Country Club in a practice session for the biennial event. The practice session was held in uncharacteristically cold and rainy conditions but it didn't tamper the excitement that came with a chance to compete for a spot on the team for the September 9- 10 match against Great Britain & Ireland.

"This practice session has a lot of value for me as the captain and it has a lot of value for the players," Team USA captain Spider Miller said. "It's likely the bulk of the team will come from this pool of players, it doesn't mean that they all will but likely most of them will."

The 16 players at the practice session included Dawson Armstrong (Lipscomb), Sean Crocker (USC), Brad Dalke (Oklahoma), Doug Ghim (Texas), Gavin Hall (Texas), Stewart Hagestad (Mid-Amateur), Scott Harvey (Mid- Amateur), Nick Hardy (Illinois), Rico Hoey (USC), Maverick McNealy (Stanford), Dylan Meyer (Illinois), Collin Morikawa (California), John Oda (UNLV), Scottie Scheffler (Texas), Jimmy Stanger (Virginia) and Will Zalatoris (Wake Forest).

ABOUT THE The Walker Cup

The Walker Cup Match is a biennial 10-man amateur team competition between the USA and a team composed of players from Great Britain and Ireland and selected by The R&A. It is played over two days with 18 singles matches and eight foursomes (alternate-shot) matches.

The first United States Walker Cup Team, which in 1922 defeated the GB&I side, 8-4, at the National Golf Links of America, is considered among the best teams ever and included Francis Ouimet, Bob Jones, Charles “Chick” Evans and Jess Sweetser. Many of the game’s greatest players have taken part in Walker Cup competition, including U.S. Open champions Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth for the USA and Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose for Great Britain and Ireland.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram