Katelyn Dambaugh and Mariel Galdiano will make up 2016 USA Women’s World Amateur Team
Katelyn Dambaugh will be joined by Mariel Galdiano <br>on the USA Women’s World Amateur Team <br>(Golfweek Photo)</br>
Katelyn Dambaugh will be joined by Mariel Galdiano
on the USA Women’s World Amateur Team
(Golfweek Photo)

FAR HILLS, NJ (Aug 15, 2016) – The United States Golf Association has selected the three players who will represent the USA in the 2016 Women’s World Amateur Team Championship, to be played Sept. 14-17 at Mayakoba El Camaleon Golf Club and Iberostar Playa Paraiso Golf Club in Riviera Maya, Mexico.

The players are Katelyn Dambaugh, 21, of Goose Creek, S.C.; Mariel Galdiano, 18, of Pearl City, Hawaii; and Andrea Lee, 18, of Hermosa Beach, Calif.

“We are thrilled that Katelyn, Mariel and Andrea will represent the United States during this exciting international competition,” said Diana Murphy, president of the United States Golf Association. “The Women’s World Amateur Team Championship carries such a rich competitive history, and these three young women will undoubtedly add to this great tradition.”

The Women’s World Amateur Team Championship is conducted by the International Golf Federation (IGF), which is currently running the golf competition at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Dambaugh is a senior at the University of South Carolina, and is No. 12 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking™ (WAGR). As a junior, she won the 2016 NCAA Baton Rouge Regional and set school marks for single-season stroke average (71.62) and top-five finishes (six). Dambaugh was runner-up in the 2010 U.S. Girls’ Junior Championship, as well as at the 2016 North & South Women’s Amateur and the SEC championships.

Galdiano, an incoming freshman at UCLA, is No. 6 in the WAGR. Earlier this month, she earned medalist honors in the 2016 U.S. Women’s Amateur, setting a 36-hole stroke-play scoring record at 9-under 133. Galdiano won the 2015 Canadian Women’s Amateur Championship and finished runner-up in the 2015 Golf Junior Classic. Galdiano, who represented the USA in the 2016 Curtis Cup Match, qualified for the 2011, 2013 and 2015 U.S. Women’s Open Championships.

Lee, an incoming freshman at Stanford University, is No. 17 in the WAGR. She was runner-up in the 2016 U.S. Girls’ Junior and Canadian Women’s Amateur championships, and reached the quarterfinals of the 2016 U.S. Women’s Amateur. Lee also represented the USA in the 2016 Curtis Cup Match, earned a silver medal for the USA in the 2015 Pan American Games and made the cut in the 2014 U.S. Women’s Open.

Dot Paluck, immediate past chairman of the USGA Women’s Committee, will serve as captain of the USA Women’s World Amateur Team.

“I am honored to have the opportunity to serve as captain to these outstanding competitors,” said Paluck. “I am greatly looking forward to our time in Mexico, and I know that the USA Team will well represent their country.”

The alternates are Monica Vaughn, 21, of Reedsport, Ore., and Bailey Tardy, 19, of Peachtree Corners, Ga.

The World Amateur Team Championship was founded in 1958, and the Women’s World Amateur Team Championship began in 1964. The IGF was founded in 1958 to encourage the international development of golf through friendship and sportsmanship. Today, the IGF consists of 135 national governing bodies of golf representing 129 countries, and is the international federation for golf for the International Olympic Committee.

The Mexican Golf Federation will host the 2016 Women’s World Amateur Team Championship. The championship was last played in 2014 in Karuizawa, Japan, with the team from Australia, led by 2016 Olympians Minjee Lee and Su Oh, taking the title. The USA last won the championship in 1998, and has captured the Espirito Santo Trophy a record 13 times.

The 2018 championship will be contested at Carton House (Montgomerie and O’Meara Courses) in Maynooth, Ireland.

ABOUT THE Women's World Amateur Team

In 1958 the United States Golf Association asked The R&A to join them in sponsoring a world-wide amateur golf team event to be played biennially in non-Walker Cup years. Between 35 and 40 nations were represented at the first meeting and President Dwight D. Eisenhower presented the trophy which bears his name. The committee of the event was to be known as the World Amateur Golf Council and is now the International Golf Federation. Teams of four players from each country competed over 72 holes with the leading three scores from each round to count. The first competition was held between 29 nations at St Andrews, with Australia beating the United States in a play-off. In 2002 the format changed to teams of three with the two leading scores to count.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram