W.E. Cole Cotton States: Blaine Hale vs. Garrett May in the Finals
Blaine Hale in action for the Oklahoma Sooners <br>(Oklahoma Athletics Photo)</br>
Blaine Hale in action for the Oklahoma Sooners
(Oklahoma Athletics Photo)

MONROE, LA (July 30, 2016) -- The championship match of the 2016 W.E. Cole Cotton States will feature No. 12 Blaine Hail and No. 6 Garrett May. On Saturday at the Bayou Desiard Country Club each player survived quarterfinal and semifinal matches.

Hail, a sophomore at Oklahoma, reached the finals on the strength of a 19 hole win against 29-seed James Grierson in the quarters and then a 3&2 victory over No. 17 Draegen Majors. During his freshman year at Oklahoma Hall played in eight events with his best finish, a T6, coming in the spring at Oak Hills Invitational.

His opponent, Garrett May, hails from Big 12 rival Baylor. Also, a sophomore, May began his day with a 19 hole triumph over Trent Evans and then ended it with a 4&2 win against two-seed Blake Collyer in the semifinals.

During his freshman season at Baylor, May played in seven events and finished in the top-10 twice. His best finish was a tied for eighth at the Boarder Olympics.

The championship match will begin at 8:30 a.m. CDT.

Results: Cotton States Amateur
WinTXGarrett MayTexarkana, TX400
Runner-upTXBlaine HaleDallas, TX300
SemifinalsOKDraegen MajorsTulsa, OK200
SemifinalsAustraliaBlake CollyerAustralia200
QuarterfinalsOKTrent EvansEdmond, OK100

View full results for Cotton States Amateur

ABOUT THE Cotton States Amateur

Originally played in 1949 as the Bayou DeSiard Labor Day Golf Tournament, the tournament's name was changed to the Cotton States Invitational in 1951 by the club's young head professional, W. E. "Winnie" Cole. He felt that the name better reflected the main states that the tournament's players originated from (and a move to mid-summer made the name a necessity later anyway). Little did Cole know that 27 years later, in 1978, the event would be renamed again, forever to be known as the W. E. Cole Cotton States Invitational Golf Tournament.

Past champions of this highly competitive, yet festive tournament include Don January and Hal Sutton. Gil Morgan, David Toms and many other PGA Tour players have also competed. The tournament field field is limited to 96 amateur participants having a verified USGA Handicap Index not exceeding 0.0. Long a match play event, the format was changed in 2021 to 72 holes of stroke play.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram