Joe Deraney goes wire-to-wire at Lupton Invitational
Lupton Invitational Mid-Am champ Joe Deraney
Lupton Invitational Mid-Am champ Joe Deraney

OOLTEWAH, TN (May 29, 2016) -- Joe Deraney won the Mid-Am division at the Lupton Invitational today, posting a final round of 1-under 71, that gave him a wire-to-wire win at 4-under 212 total at The Honors Course.

The Lexington, Kentucky resident -- who lost in a playoff to Charles Waddell here last year -- took a 3-shot lead into the final round.

Deraney's only rough patch came early, when he bogeyed the 4th and 5th holes.

"I righted the ship by making an 8-foot birdie putt on the par-5 6th hole," said Deraney. "Then I birdied the hard par-4 7th, and it was smooth sailing after that."

Finishing behind Deraney in a tie for second place at 3-over 219 was last year's champion Charles Waddell of Chicago (75), and Kenny Cook of Indiana (73). The lowest round of the day was a 69 by Craig Smith of Tennessee -- that round moved him well up the leaderboard into a tie for 11th.


Both the Senior and Super-Senior flights are played using Stableford scoring.

Doug Hanzel of Georgia finished strong with 39 points to win by five over Jack Hall. It was Hanzel's third Lupton Senior title. Michael Mercier and Paul Simson finished another two shots back, in a tie for third.

In the Super-Senior (age 65+) incoming Honors Course president Gary Chazen won a narrow one point victory over Ted Smith by birdieing the 18th holes, giving him 38 Stableford points in the final round. That was the best round by anyone in the flight, on any day.

Results: Lupton Memorial Invitational
1MSJoseph DeraneyBelden, MS30069-72-71=212
T2INKenny CookNoblesville, IN20071-75-73=219
T2ILCharles WaddellChicago, IL20072-72-75=219
T4TNSteve JohnsonSignal Mountain, TN10075-71-74=220
T4LAPatrick ChristovichNew Orleans, LA10071-73-76=220

View full results for Lupton Memorial Invitational

ABOUT THE Lupton Memorial Invitational

This event, named after club founder John T. Lupton, debuted in 2005 on a spectacular Pete Dye golf course near Chatanooga. Mitch Voges won the 1991 U.S. Amateur here, and Tiger Woods won the 1996 NCAA Championship here despite a final round 80. 54 hole individual event with a 36 hole cut. Stroke play format for the Championship division and Stableford format for the Senior division. Committee will invite 72 mid ams and 54 senior ams. The field will be cut to approximately 75% in each division following the 2nd round.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram