Top seeds Goldstein and Kraus advance at Jones/Doherty
LSU’s Carly Ray Goldstein won big on Wednesday after sitting through a bye in yesterday’s first round of the Jones/Doherty. Today’s 5&4 win over 17-seed Marie Arnoux means she’ll face #9 seed Julia Matzat, a Parkland, FL high school junior. Matzat defeated Martha Leach, 5&3.

Second seed Georgia Oboh was upset by 15th seed Claire Fitzgerald, 3&2. Third seed Kendall Griffin, an LSU commit for 2017 from Sebring, was the only other top-4 seed to advance as she beat Sagee Palavivatana, 2-up. No. 4 seed Julia Dean went down 1-up to the 20th seeded Susan Kirschenman.

The 2012 champion, sixth-seeded Meghan Stasi, enjoyed a first-round bye but couldn’t get by her second round opponent, Canadian Selena Costabile, who edged Stasi 1-up in 20 holes.

"My friend joked a couple of weeks ago that I'm closer to the seniors in age than the amateurs, but I'm not quite there yet. It's tough playing against the younger kids," Stasi joked last week. "It's just good, good competition."

In the Senior Division, top seed and defending champion Andrea Kraus of Baltimore had her second straight 5&4 win, this one over the #16 seed Lynne Morrison. Second-seeded Diane Lang fell to 2010 champion and #15 seed Kim Eaton of Mesa, AZ, who won 1-up in 19 holes. Kraus is the only one of the top-4 seeds to advance, hoping to win back-to-back championships. She’ll face eighth seed Lynne Cowan, a 4&3 winner over Susan Beaupied.

Senior Division third seed Kelly Loeb played her second straight 19-hole match, this time losing to #19 Alison Reifers, 1-up. Alexandra Frazier, who brought down #4 Taffy Brower yesterday, continued to work her way past higher seeds as she defeated Sandie St. Onge, 4&2. She’ll face Susan West, who beat #5 Leigh Coulter, 7&5.

Play resumes on Thursday with the Senior Division going off the tees first.

View results for Jones/Doherty Women's Amateur

ABOUT THE Jones/Doherty Women's Amateur

The third event on the "Orange Blossom" circuit of ladies events in Florida, with an illustrious list of past champions including Patty Berg, JoAnne Carner, Babe Zaharias and Marlene Stewart Streit, Natalie Gulbis, Michelle McGann, Vicki Goetze, Charley Hull and Lexi Thompson. Tournament consists of two divisions (Women's and Senior Women's) playing an 18-hole qualifying for match play flights in each division as follows: Championship Flight of 16, First Flight of 16, Second Flight of 8.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram