Field, Majors win in playoff at Trans-Miss Four-Ball
Draegen Majors
Draegen Majors

OOLTEWAH, Tenn. — Lawrence Field and Draegen Majors of Tulsa, OK won the 35th Trans-Mississippi Four-Ball Championship at The Honors Course, in Ooltewah, TN Thursday afternoon after defeating Ben Blundell and Jordan Cook of Oklahoma City in a two-hole playoff.

After starting the day one shot back of the lead, Field and Majors stayed consistent in their ways and continued to play solid golf on their way to a 54-hole total of 10-under-par 206. But frankly, they were both more worried about enjoying their time with each other, their fellow competitors, and the overall tournament itself, than they were about their final score.

“We really weren’t focused on the end result as much as we were enjoying our time together,” said Field. “We really wanted to dwell on the camaraderie and enjoy the spirit that team golf brings with it.”

Sporting matching “unis” in the final round, the team from Tulsa fired a final round score of 4-under 68 thanks to a clutch birdie putt on 54th hole from Majors, making them the new clubhouse leader. However, more excitement quickly followed.

Shortly after the new leaders finished, Ben Blundell managed to make an impressive par save on 18 by draining a twelve- foot putt to put himself and partner Jordan Cook in a tie for first and into a playoff.

The first playoff hole saw Majors barely leave a birdie chance short and giving Cook the chance to win it for his team. Unfortunately, Cook ran his birdie attempt by, continuing the playoff. Once again, Majors came in the clutch.

After putting himself in familiar territory off the tee, Majors hit his approach from the middle of the fairway to just over two feet from the hole for birdie. Blundell and Cook went on to make their par while Majors tapped in for birdie, winning the playoff and the Championship.

“I don’t know if we really expected to be here by any means,” said Majors, the former SMU player. “I knew we had a chance and then we figured we’d go play well and see what happens.”

This is the duo’s first Trans-Mississippi Championship.

Finishing behind Blundell and Cook in a tie for third were Randy Lance from Lufkin, TX and Brad Kropp from Edmond, OK and Scott Tridle from Lincoln, NE and Will Andersen from Dakota City, NE with a three round total of 9-under 207.

In the Senior Division, the teams of Mike Ameen of Shreveport, LA and Randy King of Kilgore, TX and John Pigg of Bee Cave, TX and Eddie Lyons of Shreveport, LA were crowned Co-Champions after a series of playoff holes, finishing with a 54-hole total of 10-under 206. Also finishing with a total of 10-under 206, but coming in third, were Kip Estep and Bob Baker from Rockwall, TX. Baker and Estep were eliminated after the first playoff hole after making an unfortunate bogey.

Second round co-leaders Lee Sandlin and Warren Huddleston from Dallas, TX finished the tournament tied for fourth with Tim Gamso from Dallas, TX and Randy Yoder from Chattanooga, TN at 7-under 209.

Finishing the tournament with the lowest total of the entire field, Sam Boyd of Horseshoe Bay, TX and Ken Redfern of Austin, TX ran away with the title in the Super-Senior Division finishing a wire-to-wire win with a final round 2-under, rounding out the week with an exceptional score of 16-under 200.

Jim Lipe Jr. and Mickey McDonald from Shreveport, LA finished second at 7-under 206, with Steve Dallas and Edward Smith from Mesa, AZ finished third at 4-under 211.

The Trans-Mississippi Golf Association would like to send its sincerest appreciation to The Honors Course, its staff, and all of the volunteers for helping to make this Championship a success.

View results for Trans-Miss Four-Ball
ABOUT THE Trans-Miss Four-Ball

One of four annual championships hosted each year by the historic Trans-Mississippi Golf Association. Each player must be a member of a Trans-Mississippi member club, but not necessarily the same club. Players who do not belong to a Trans-Miss member club can speak to their club's manager or board of directors to encourage them to join (dues are very reasonable and support the Trans-Miss Turf Scholarship Fund). Alternatively, entrants may make a contribution in lieu of club membership to the Turf Scholarship Fund.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram