Larkin, Brown pacing Trans-Miss Four-Ball
Jack Larkin
Jack Larkin

OOLTEWAH, Tenn. — After an eventful afternoon, Jack Larkin and Michael Brown of Atlanta, Ga. own the top spot at the 35th Trans-Mississippi Four-Ball Championship at The Honors Course in Ooltewah, Tenn., after firing a 5-under-par 67 to lead by one.

Starting on the 10th hole, Larkin and Brown got off to a bit of a rough start, making one birdie and one bogey on two of their first four holes. The 17th hole is where they began to catch momentum. After making birdie on the uphill par-5, the duo made the turn and proceeded to make two pars and three straight birdies on the first five holes of their back nine. Rounding out their second nine with a birdie on the par-3 eighth, Larkin and Brown separated themselves from the field and finish the day in the lead.

Sitting a shot back of the leaders, three teams are tied for second at 4-under 68. The three duos consist of Terrence Miskell of New Braunfels, Texas and Trey Hallmark of Boerne, Texas, Brad Kropp of Edmond, Okla. and Randy Lance, of Lufkin, Texas, and Richard Spangler of Hixson, Tenn. and Andy White of Signal Mountain, Tennessee. Two teams are tied for fifth at 3- under.

In the Senior Division, the duo of Mike Ameen from Shreveport, La. and Randy King from Kilgore, Texas lead by three after an impressive first round of 7-under 65. Getting off to a hot start, Ameen and King made four birdies in their first six holes en route to a 5-under front nine. Sitting three shots behind the leaders, Lee Sandlin and Warren Huddleston of Dallas are tied for second with Brad Burris from High Point, N.C. and Mark Stephens from Troutman, N.C. at 4- under 68. Six teams stand behind them tied for fourth at 1-under 71.

Sam Boyd of Horseshoe Bay, Texas and Ken Redfern of Austin, Texas have a one shot lead over Mickey McDonald and Jim Lipe of Shreveport, La. in the Super-Senior Division. Boyd and Redfern shot an exceptional 7-under 65 after starting the day with a 5-under front nine. The McDonald and Lipe pair weren’t too far behind with their 6-under 66 leading to a spot in solo second. Neil Wiley from Marietta, Ga. and John McGovern from Atlanta, Ga. follow close behind sitting in solo third at 3-under.

The 35th Trans-Mississippi Four-Ball Championship is the third and final Trans-Miss championship to be held this year, and is being held at The Honors Course for the first time. Designed by Pete Dye in 1983, The Honors Course was created to honor the amateur golfer. Although it was considered radical in the 1980’s due to its multitude of tall, native-grass rough, unusual Zoysia grass fairways and lightning fast greens, the layout has stood the test of time. Today, it is considered a well-kept example of Pete Dye’s high risk, high reward architecture and is a fitting challenge for the field.

View results for Trans-Miss Four-Ball
ABOUT THE Trans-Miss Four-Ball

One of four annual championships hosted each year by the historic Trans-Mississippi Golf Association. Each player must be a member of a Trans-Mississippi member club, but not necessarily the same club. Players who do not belong to a Trans-Miss member club can speak to their club's manager or board of directors to encourage them to join (dues are very reasonable and support the Trans-Miss Turf Scholarship Fund). Alternatively, entrants may make a contribution in lieu of club membership to the Turf Scholarship Fund.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram