Florida sets 36-hole scoring record at U.S. Women's State Team
Florida representative Tara Joy-Connelly (USGA)
Florida representative Tara Joy-Connelly (USGA)

CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo. — Florida maintains their narrow advantage over neighboring Georgia after the second round of the U.S. Women's State Team Championship. Led once again by the duo of Tara Joy-Connelly and Meghan Stasi, the Sunshine State on Friday set the tournament's 36-hole scoring record at 5-under 283, playing the Jack Nicklaus-designed Dalhousie Golf Club.

Joy-Connelly's 67 led individually by two after day one, and despite a 75 in the second round, steady play from Stasi (71-71) have the record-setting team heading to Saturday's final round holding a slight lead.

Joy-Connelly won the 2003 and 2013 Massachusetts Women’s Amateurs, and is a six-time Massachusetts Women’s Open champion. Her most recent triumph was this year when she captured the Florida Women's Mid-Amateur. Stasi has much USGA experience, including four victories at the U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur, most recently in 2012.

Georgia remains two shots back of their southern neighbor, once again paced by defending U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur champion Margaret Shirley, as well as Emilie Meason. Both players posted 1-over par 73 on Friday, matching Florida's day total of 146.

Trailing second-place Georgia by eight shots are a trio of team tied for third — Alabama, Virginia, and New Mexico. They will have work to do on the final day to be in contention with the two southeast powerhouses.

Results: U.S. Women's State Team
1MAShannon JohnsonNorton, MA50071-70-71=212
T2MISarah HoffmanSaline, MI40073-72-73=218
T2GAEmilie MeasonAtlanta, GA40069-73-76=218
T2PABrynn WalkerRadnor, PA40071-76-71=218
T2UTKelsey ChuggSalt Lake City, UT40075-71-72=218

View full results for U.S. Women's State Team

ABOUT THE U.S. Women's State Team

The USGA State Team Championships grew out of the Association's Centennial Celebration in 1995, and have been held on an every-other- year basis since. 52 men’s teams (including teams from Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia) compete for the trophy named in honor of former USGA President James Hand. Fifty women’s teams compete for the trophy named for past USGA President Judy Bell.

State golf associations select three of their top non-college amateurs to represent them in this biennial team championship. The top two scores of the three players count toward the team total for each of the three days.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube