Illinois runs away with 32-shot victory at Big Ten Championship
Nick Hardy
Nick Hardy

FRENCH LINK, Ind. — Illinois, who began the spring as the No. 1 ranked men's team in the nation, showed why they've dominated the Big Ten for the last seven years with a 32-point runaway victory at Victoria National Golf Club on Sunday.

The win is the team's sixth victory in the past seven years, with 2014's loss to Minnesota coming as the only non-win for the Fighting Illini.

Freshman Nick Hardy took home individual medalist honors at four-under par 284, despite a final-round 76. All five Illinois players finished inside the top-12.

Iowa took second place by 11 shots over Minnesota and Penn State and were led by their sophomore Carson Schaake, who shared the the individual title with Hardy.

Results: Big Ten Championship
T1NECarson SchaakeOmaha, NE80065-70-76-73=284
T1ILNick HardyNorthbrook, IL80071-69-68-76=284
T3BelgiumThomas DetryBelgium40071-70-71-74=286
T3NCDavid KocherCharlotte, NC40070-68-72-76=286
T5Costa RicaJose MendezCosta Rica40072-72-70-74=288

View full results for Big Ten Championship

ABOUT THE Big Ten Championship

54 hole men's collegiate championship of the Big Ten Conference. Team (best four scores out of five players each round) and individual competitions.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram