Kade McBride wins Oglethorpe Invitational
Kade McBride
Kade McBride

by Dennis Knight, Savannah Morning News

SAVANNAH, Georgia (July 26, 2014) -- A whirlwind golfing tour of the United States had its most recent stellar stop Saturday for Australian Kade McBride, who became the first international player to win the Oglethorpe Invitational hosted by Wilmington Island Club.

The 19-year-old from Gold Coast fired a final- round 65, including a spectacular back nine where he carded four birdies in his first five holes. McBride tied the tournament record set in 2008 by current PGA Tour player Mark Anderson by shooting 16-under par, tournament director Patrick Richardson said.

McBride beat runner-up Daniel Pizetoski of Davidson, North Carolina by two strokes. Pizetoski led the tournament after the first round.

Robby Prater of Birmingham (69-64-68—201) was third, while Joshua Lee (Fleming Island, Florida) and Victor Wiggins (Gastonia, NC) tied for fourth at 202.

Defending champion and local legend Jack Hall (who also won the tournament in 2005 and 2010) posted a pair of 67s in the first two rounds, but failed to find comeback magic on Saturday as he closed with 72 to finish T10.

McBride arrived stateside in early June and has been tearing up American courses ever since. He traveled to Indiana earlier this month to compete in a U.S. Amateur qualifier at the home course for the University of Notre Dame. He was 4-under par over two rounds to win the tournament by three strokes — punching his ticket to the U.S. Amateur next month at the Atlantic Athletic Club.

To read full Savannah Morning News story, visit: www.Savannah MorningNews.com

Results: Oglethorpe Invitational
1AustraliaKade McBrideAustralia50068-64-65--197
2NCDanny PizetoskiDavidson, NC40064-67-68--199
3ALRobby PraterBirmingham, AL30069-64-68--201
T4FLJosh LeeOrange Park, FL30066-69-67--202
T4NCVictor WigginsGastonia, NC30070-63-69--202

View full results for Oglethorpe Invitational

ABOUT THE Oglethorpe Invitational

This 54-hole stroke play event (with 36-hole cut) has been a good mix of collegiate, mid-amateur, and senior players since its inaugural playing in 1983, which was won by three-time PGA Tour winner Gene Sauers. Entries open to amateurs with USGA handicap index of 5 or less.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram