Florida Open: Alfieri, Wang, Green share low amateur honors
Joe Alfieri
Joe Alfieri

BONITA SPRINGS, Fla. (July 20, 2014) -- Caleb Johnson Jr. captured the 68th Florida Open Championship posting a tournament total of 12-under par at The Bonita Bay Club in Naples on July 18-20.

Caleb Johnson Jr., of Ocala, outlasted the field of 156 players to capture the 68th Florida Open Championship. Johnson opened up his Championship campaign on the Cypress Course, posting a four-under par 68 to trail Charles Wang, of Bradenton by two shots after 18-holes of play. Johnson’s flawless first round included four birdies and no bogeys. Playing the Bay Island Course in the second round, Johnson would use three birdies to go along with his two bogeys for his round of one-under par 71. With a 36-hole total of five-under par 139, Johnson would find himself in the final pairing on Sunday and only three shots back.

In the final round, Johnson would trail the overnight leader, Tyler Hock, of Ocala, for most of the afternoon, and even after a two-under par front nine, Johnson would still trail Hock by two shots enter the final nine holes of play. After birdies by Hock on 10 and 12 to get to 12-under par for the Championship, Johnson’s chances looks slim as he stood on the 12th tee box. What happened on the final seven holes was for Johnson was pretty special. Johnson would peel off four birdies in a row on holes 12-15 to cut Hock’s lead to only one shot. After both players bogeyed the difficult par-3 16th hole, Johnson would still only trial by one shot. Johnson would take the lead on the 17th hole with another birdie, as Hock would make bogey. Standing on the 18th tee, Johnson would hold a one shot lead over three players. Needing at least a par on the final hole, Johnson would do one better finishing off the Championship in style making yet another birdie to cap of his round of seven-under par 65, and take home the first place check of $12,000.

Matt Borchert, of Windermere, and Tyler Hock, of Ocala, finished tied for second place with a tournament total of 10-under par 206. Brad Brunner, of Tampa, and Zachary Oakley, of Palm City, shared fourth place honors with a tournament total of nine-under par 207. Low amateur honors were shared by Joe Alfieri, of Lutz, Keith Green, of DeBary, and Charles Wang, of Bradenton, who all finished tied for 11th place.

Started in 1942, The Florida Open Championship has produced past champions that include Willie Turnesa, Bob Murphy, Gary Koch, Bruce Fleisher, John Huston, Dudley Hart, and Bart Bryant. This is the sixth year the Florida State Golf Association will be conducting this great championship.

ABOUT THE Florida Open

The Florida Open is open to PGA golf professionals, amateur golfers, and other professional golfers who meet the eligibility requirements. The Florida Open has a rich history that dates back to 1942 and includes notable champions, such as Bob Murphy, Gary Koch, Charles Owens, Bruce Fleisher, John Huston, Dudley Hart, and Bart Bryant among others.

Professionals and Amateurs can qualify for the Championship through local qualifying. Exemptions are available through State Amateur Championships & PGA Section Events. Format will be 54-holes of stroke play with a cut to the low 60 and ties after 36-holes.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Instagram X Facebook YouTube