Trans-Miss Amateur: DeChambeau returns to defend crown
From the Trans- Miss Golf Association

TULSA, Okla. (June 30, 2014) -- Historic Southern Hills Country Club will play host to its third Trans-Miss Championship, as Bryson DeChambeau defends his title in the 111th playing of the prestigious amateur championship presented by TaylorMade- Addidas from July 7-10.

DeChambeau, 20, looks to become the first back-to-back winner of this event since Allen Miller won three times from 1968- 70. World Golf Hall of Fame member Jack Nicklaus is the other repeat Trans-Miss champion; Nicklaus won as an amateur in 1958-59. DeChambeau, a junior at SMU, last year shot a final round 69 to win the Trans-Miss Championship by five strokes over Jeremy Saunders and Austin Cook. DeChambeau in May led SMU to the quarterfinals of the NCAA men’s golf team championships before the Mustangs lost to eventual national champion Alabama. The NCAA quarterfinals appearance was SMU’s best national finish since 1972.

Incoming University of Texas freshman Scottie Scheffler, winner of the 2013 U.S. Junior Amateur and ranked second in the World Amateur Golf Rankings as of June 30, is among the 143 players who will attempt to thwart DeChambeau’s Trans- Miss title defense. Dallas resident Scheffler, 17, in May played in the PGA Tour’s HP Byron Nelson Championship on a sponsor’s exemption. Not only did Scheffler make the cut, he scored a hole-in-one in the third round and finished tied for 22nd at 4- under-par 276 in his PGA Tour debut.

Designed by Perry Maxwell, Southern Hills Country Club was established in 1936. It has played host to three U.S. Opens, four PGA Championships and six USGA national championships, including the 2009 U.S. Amateur and first-ever Women’s Mid-Amateur in 1987. Tiger Woods won the 2007 PGA Championship at Southern Hills, which was also the site for Retief Goosen’s 2001 U.S. Open victory.

Southern Hills will play 7,104 yards as a par 70 for the Trans-Miss. The club first hosted the annual championship in 1940, when Arthur Doering took home the title. Legendary Pennsylvania amateur William Hyndman III won the 1968 Trans-Miss at Southern Hills.

The Trans-Mississippi Golf Association is one of the oldest and most prestigious golf organizations in the U.S. Established in 1901, the Trans-Miss is composed of 200 member clubs located throughout the country. The 2014 field consists of 18 entrants from the state of Oklahoma, including five from Tulsa: Lawrence Field, Brendon Jelley, Andy Johnson, Charlie Saxon and Kevin Schultz.

Results: Trans-Miss Championship
1TXWill ZalatorisPlano, TX90067-68=135
2CAAlex FranklinSan Rafael, CA70067-69=136
3TXMatt GilchrestSouthlake, TX50069-69=138
T4CABrian CampbellIrvine, CA50072-67=139
T4MOKyle WeldonSt. Louis, MO50071-68=139

View full results for Trans-Miss Championship

ABOUT THE Trans-Miss Championship

The Trans-Miss is one of the oldest and most storied golf tournaments in the United States. For 106 years the championship was played in a match play format. Past champions include Jack Nicklaus (1958 and 1959), Charles Coe (1947, 1949, 1952 and 1956), Deane Beman (1960), George Archer (1963), Ben Crenshaw (1972), Gary Koch (1973), Bob Tway (1978), Mark Brooks (1978) and other professional tour notables. In 1987 the championship was changed to a mid- amateur age requirement, and a senior division was also added. Starting in 2010, the Trans- Mississippi Championship, returned to its roots as an open amateur tournament, and immediately established itself as a "must-play" among top collegiate and mid-am players, while changing to a 72-hole stroke play format. The field size starts at 144 players from Trans- Mississippi Golf Association member clubs (or players receiving a special invitation from the Championship Committee). After 36 holes, a cut is made to the low 54 and ties who play the final two rounds.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Instagram X Facebook YouTube