Lupton Invitational: Comeback victory for McCoy
Mike McCoy
Mike McCoy

OOLTEWAH, Tenn. (May 25, 2014) -- Mike McCoy of Iowa, the 2013 U.S. Mid Am champ, started the day five back of 36-hole leader Robert Gerwin. On Sunday at the challenging Honors Course, McCoy showed why he is one of the country's top amateur players, birdieing the final two holes to grab his first Lupton title. McCoy posted an even par 72 in the final round for a tournament total of 2-over 218 and a 2-stroke victory over Kenny Cook of Indiana (75) and Robert Gerwin of Ohio (79).

Paul Simson won an amazing 5th Lupton Senior title, posting 114 Stableford points. Bill Leonard was 8 points back. Leonard posted a solid 39 points on Sunday to move past Bob Stephens, who finished in third with 103 points. Kelly Miller of North Carolina had 35 points on Sunday to move into 4th at 102.

Ted Smith of Indiana won the Super Seniors with 105 points with Don Marsh of Georgia, finishing at 100 and former PGA Tour player and TV personality Steve Melnyk (Florida) in third with 96 points.

Results: Lupton Memorial Invitational
1IAMike McCoyW. Des Moines, IA40071-75-72=218
T2OHRobert GerwinCincinnati, OH30069-72-79=220
T2INKenny CookNoblesville, IN30069-76-75=220
4GAKris MikkelsenAtlanta, GA20077-73-71=221
T5TXAaron HickmanTyler, TX20073-78-72=223

View full results for Lupton Memorial Invitational

ABOUT THE Lupton Memorial Invitational

This event, named after club founder John T. Lupton, debuted in 2005 on a spectacular Pete Dye golf course near Chatanooga. Mitch Voges won the 1991 U.S. Amateur here, and Tiger Woods won the 1996 NCAA Championship here despite a final round 80. 54 hole individual walking-only event. Stroke play format for the Championship division and Stableford format for the Senior division. Committee will invite 39 mid ams and 48 senior ams.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube