Hogan Award: 33 players named to watch list
Oliver Schniederjans
Oliver Schniederjans

FORT WORTH, Texas (Feb. 5, 2014) – Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America are pleased to announce the list of 30 collegiate golfers named to the 2014 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List. The list is the largest since 33 players were named in 2004.

The most prestigious award in men’s college golf, The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee, which votes during each stage of the process, is comprised of leaders in professional, amateur and collegiate golf.

The 2014 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List, as determined by the award’s subcommittee, is detailed below.

Eight of the golfers have previously been named to the Watch List: Brun, Conners, Hagy, Pan, Rodgers, Weaver, Whitsett and Wyatt. Brun (2013) and Rodgers (2012) have been finalists for the award.

A list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the current list, will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 16. On Wednesday, May 7, that group will be pared down to three finalists. The winner will be crowned at a black-tie banquet at Colonial Country Club on Sunday, May 18, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR’s Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial.

The award, which was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its original list of standards, revised its criteria for the 2001- 02 collegiate season to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

Since that time, the winners have been: D.J. Trahan (Clemson, 2002), Ricky Barnes (Arizona, 2003), Hunter Mahan (Oklahoma State, 2003), Bill Haas (Wake Forest, 2004), Ryan Moore (UNLV, 2005), Matt Every (Florida, 2006), Chris Kirk (Georgia, 2007), Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State, 2008), Kyle Stanley (Clemson, 2009), Nick Taylor (Washington, 2010), Peter Uihlein (Oklahoma State, 2011), Patrick Cantlay (UCLA, 2012) and Chris Williams (Washington, 2013).

To find the latest information on The Ben Hogan Award, its candidates and its previous winners, visit TheBenHoganAward.org and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter.

About the Candidates

With 30 players included, the Watch List is the second biggest list since it began in 2002, behind only the 33 players named in 2004.

The Ben Hogan Award Watch List includes 15 seniors, nine juniors, five sophomores and one freshman.

The list features 6 of the top 10 golfers and 17 of the top 25 players in the World Amateur Golf Ranking. It also boasts 8 of the top 10 golfers and 17 of the top 25 players in the Scratch Players World Amateur Ranking.

On the college side, the list includes 8 of the top 10 players in the latest Golfweek/Sagarin individual rankings and 19 of the top 25. It also contains eight of the top 10 players and 16 of the top 25 golfers in the Golfstat rankings.

A total of 21 universities are represented on the Watch List. Six schools—Alabama (4), California (3), Georgia Tech (2), Kent State (2), Oklahoma State (2) and Stanford (2)—have multiple nominees.

The four members of the Alabama Crimson Tide match the most ever on the Watch List by one school, tying Oklahoma State (2010) and California (2013).

This is the ninth consecutive year that Stanford has had a player named to the Watch List, the longest active streak by any school. The next longest active streaks are Alabama (7) and Illinois (5).

Nearly half (13 of the 30) of the Watch List is comprised of athletes from the Southeastern Conference (7) and Pac-12 Conference (6). The other leagues with multiple student- athletes on the Watch List include: Big 12 (4), Atlantic Coast (4), American (3) and Mid-American (2). Five schools have a member on the Watch List for the first time ever (Tennessee, UCF, USF, Virginia and Western Carolina).

Twenty-two of the 30 golfers are appearing on the Watch List for the first time. Three golfers (Julien Brun, Cheng-Tsung Pan and Patrick Rodgers) are on the Watch List for the third straight season.

Brun (2013) and Rodgers (2012) have previously been finalists for the award. In addition, Brun (2012, 2013), Pan (2012, 2013), Rodgers (2012, 2013) and Bobby Wyatt (2013) have been semifinalists in the past.

Twelve of the 30 players hail from foreign countries (Australia, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Malaysia, Taiwan and Zimbabwe).

Bradley Shigezawa of Division III Claremont- Mudd-Scripps is the lone non-Division I golfer on the list.

Watch List Candidates

Name – School, Year, Hometown
Anders Albertson – Georgia Tech, Jr., Woodstock, Ga.
Julien Brun – TCU, Jr., Antibes, France
Sebastian Cappelen – Arkansas, Sr., Odense, Denmark
Corey Conners – Kent State, Sr., Listowel, Ontario, Canada
Ian Davis – Oklahoma State, Sr., Edmond, Okla.
Bryson Dechambeau – SMU, So., Clovis, Calif.
Thomas Detry – Illinois, So., Brussels, Belgium
Greg Eason – UCF, Sr., Leicester City, England
Joey Garber – Georgia, Sr., Petoskey, Mich.
Oliver Goss – Tennessee, So., Perth, Australia
Gavin Green – New Mexico, Jr., Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Brandon Hagy – California, Sr., Westlake Village, Calif.
Toni Hakula – Texas, Sr., Espoo, Finland
Chase Koepka – USF, So., West Palm Beach, Fla.
Denny McCarthy – Virginia, Jr., Rockville, Md.
Trey Mullinax – Alabama, Sr., Birmingham, Ala.
Jordan Niebrugge – Oklahoma State, So., Mequon, Wis.
Cheng-Tsung Pan – Washington, Jr., Miaoli County, Taiwan
Taylor Pendrith – Kent State, Sr., Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
J.T. Poston – Western Carolina, Jr., Hickory, N.C.
Patrick Rodgers – Stanford, Jr., Avon, Ind.
Ollie Schniederjans – Georgia Tech, Jr., Powder Springs, Ga.
Robby Shelton – Alabama, Fr., Wilmer, Ala.
Bradley Shigezawa – Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, Sr., Honolulu, Hawaii
Joel Stalter – California, Sr., Amneville, France
Scott Vincent – Virginia Tech, Jr., Harare, Zimbabwe
Michael Weaver – California, Sr., Fresno, Calif.
Cory Whitsett – Alabama, Sr., Houston, Texas
Cameron Wilson – Stanford, Sr., Rowayton, Conn.
Bobby Wyatt – Alabama, Sr., Mobile, Ala.

ABOUT THE Ben Hogan Award

The Ben Hogan Award is given annually to honor the best college golf player in the United States. Since 2005, the award winner is named at a ceremony prior to the PGA Tour event at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, and is invited to the following year's tournament.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube