Concession Cup captains, players announced
Doug Hanzel
Doug Hanzel

BRADENTON, Fla. (Jan. 27, 2014) -- Announced in late 2013, the Concession Cup is already gearing up to be one of the amateur game's top events when it kicks off in April.

Tournament officials of the May 1-3 biennial amateur team match-play comptition featuring mid-amateur, senior and super senior players from the United States and Great Britain & Ireland announced the first grouping of players as well as team captains fro the inaugural event.

For the U.S., Vinny Giles will lead a talented group of players, including 2015 Walker Cup captain John Miller, 2013 U.S. Senior Amateur Doug Hanzel, Paul Simson, Chip Lutz, George Zahringer, Pat Tallent and Danny Yates.

Giles, of course, is a former winner of the U.S. Amateur, U.S. Senior Amateur and British Amateur and member of four Walker Cup squads from 1969-1975.

The Great Britain & Ireland squad will be captained by Garth McGimpsey, who won the 1985 British Amateur and the 1988 Eisenhower Trophy. He played in five Walker Cups. Initial GB&I team members include Arthur Pierse, Ian Brotherson, Maurice Kelly, Adrian Morrow and Adrew Stracey.

ABOUT THE Concession Cup

Created by supporters of amateur golf, The Concession Cup is an event designed to celebrate the game through international competition while giving back to worthy causes. The event is a biennial team competition played between teams comprised of leading male Mid-Amateurs, Senior Amateurs and Super Senior Amateurs from the United States and Europe.

The Concession Cup Committee will select the participating players through the following categories:
Six (6) Mid-Amateurs, age 25 to 54.
Six (6) Senior Amateurs, age 55 and older.
Two (2) Senior Amateurs, age 65 and older.

The competition is conducted over three days through the traditional team match-play formats of foursome, four-ball and singles. In honor of two of the greatest amateur competitors in the history of the game, a trophy has been commissioned in the names of United States amateur, Bill Campbell and British Amateur, Sir Michael Bonallack – the Campbell/Bonallack trophy will be presented to the winning team at the conclusion of the matches.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube