Dechambeau leads Trans-Miss
FAIRFAX, Calif. (July 10, 2013) -- Before this week, Clovis’ Bryson DeChambeau had never seen the Meadow Club, but after his second straight 65 Wednesday, he is feeling right at home.

He has a four-shot lead going into the final day of the 110th Trans-Mississippi Championship presented by TaylorMade-Adidas.

DeChambeau, who was second in last month’s California State Amateur and just finished his freshman year at SMU, has a 10-under total of 130 headed to the 36-hole final day under sunny skies and cooler conditions.

The 130 mark is four better than Austin Cook, who was 6-under through 15 holes in the second round. Trevor Simsby of Carlsbad, Calif. is also tied for second place.

Cory McElyea, who last month played in the U.S. Open before defeating Dechambeau for the California State Amateur title, shot 3-over Wednesday after a first-round 62 and is tied for fourth.

Jonathan Schnitzer, who nearly broke the competitive course record at The Meadow Club with a first-round 61, struggled early in his round on Day 2 and sits tied for sixth place.

Also in sixth place is a pair of California Golden Bears standouts Brandon Hagy and Max Homa.

Results: Trans-Miss Championship
1CABryson DeChambeauClovis, CA90065-65-67-69--266
T2CAJeremy SandersChatsworth, CA70068-69-66-68--271
T2ARAustin CookAR70065-69-67-70--271
T4OKCharlie SaxonTulsa, OK50071-69-66-66--272
T4CAMax HomaValencia, CA50065-70-67-70--272

View full results for Trans-Miss Championship

ABOUT THE Trans-Miss Championship

The Trans-Miss is one of the oldest and most storied golf tournaments in the United States. For 106 years the championship was played in a match play format. Past champions include Jack Nicklaus (1958 and 1959), Charles Coe (1947, 1949, 1952 and 1956), Deane Beman (1960), George Archer (1963), Ben Crenshaw (1972), Gary Koch (1973), Bob Tway (1978), Mark Brooks (1978) and other professional tour notables. In 1987 the championship was changed to a mid- amateur age requirement, and a senior division was also added. Starting in 2010, the Trans- Mississippi Championship, returned to its roots as an open amateur tournament, and immediately established itself as a "must-play" among top collegiate and mid-am players, while changing to a 72-hole stroke play format. The field size starts at 144 players from Trans- Mississippi Golf Association member clubs (or players receiving a special invitation from the Championship Committee). After 36 holes, a cut is made to the low 54 and ties who play the final two rounds.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram