Belle Haven Country Club and the surrounding Belle Haven residential community began together in the early 1920's when David Howell, a civil engineer from Alexandria, purchased the land from owners Mrs. Thomas Wilfred Robinson, Sr. and her brothers. Upon purchasing the land, David Howell set up two corporations, one to construct a golf course and club, and the other to develop a residential subdivision. The land was deeded to the Club on September 1, 1924.
Prior to this purchase, the land had a rich history as part of the West Grove Plantation. The West Grove Plantation house was located near where the clubhouse now stands. The plantation house stood on this land until it was burned to the ground by federal troops retaliating against the owner's sons for serving as officers on General Robert E. Lee's staff. No house occupied this land again until the first house was built in Belle Haven at 6041 Woodmont Road.
As the club approached the 21st century, an ambitious Master Plan was developed to update and enhance the many wonderful recreational facilities of Belle Haven Country Club. What began as a modest 9 hole golf course and clubhouse along the Potomac River in 1925 has grown into a private, full service country club boasting an 18 hole golf course designed by world-renowned architect, Arthur Hills. We offer complete golf practice facilities and a full service golf Pro Shop.