Southwestern Men's Amateur 2022 Championship
June 15 - 18 2022
Scottsdale, AZ


Tournament Overview

Southwestern Men's Amateur 2022 Championship
72-hole stroke play championship for national- level amateurs with a handicap index of 1.4 or better. After 36 holes, the field will be cut to the low 36 and ties. The SWGA Selection Committee will select players to compete based upon exemptions, playing resume and rankings.

The SWGA reserves the right to invite amateurs of national and international reputation, as well as other amateurs "of note", to enter into the tournament. Applicants are urged to submit their entries with golf resumes of accomplishment in major tournaments and other competitive record information.

Search Terms

Format: Stroke Play
Categories: Men
Regions: Southwest


Desert Mountain Golf Club - Geronimo Course Desert Mountain Golf Club - Geronimo Course
10333 E Rockaway Hills Dr
Scottsdale, AZ  85262-2901
phone: (480) 488-1362 or (800) 362-5827
url: www.desertmountain.com

Tournament News

In addition to the table results below, PDF versions of past results are available to view or download.

Showing results for

1TNDylan HealeyFranklin, TN70066-69-74-66=275
2OKHayden WoodEdmond, OK50068-69-68-70=275
3CAEric SugimotoSan Diego, CA40072-71-67-66=276
T5South AfricaGregory RoystonSouth Africa40067-73-69-69=278
4South AfricaVictor LangeSouth Africa40069-71-67-70=277
T5SwitzerlandPerry CohenSwitzerland40075-66-70-67=278
7OKNick HeinenEdmond, OK30070-74-66-69=279
T8OKBrendon JelleyTulsa, OK30074-69-69-68=280
T8WAAaron WhalenEphrata, WA30070-73-67-70=280
10DenmarkMartin SimonsenDenmark30074-71-69-67=281
T15CAAndrej BevinsElk Grove, CA20070-70-74-70=284
T11UTPatrick FishburnOgden, UT20072-71-70-69=282
T11CAKelby ScharmannTrabuco Canyon, CA20067-70-72-73=282
T15CAAnthony CecerePalos Verdes Estates, CA20067-74-70-73=284
T15COJake StaianoCherry Hills, CO20066-78-73-67=284
T11VAMatthew AshleyLeesburg, VA20070-71-74-67=282
T11CARyan BurgessRancho Santa Fe, CA20069-73-65-75=282
T18AZBlake CannonMesa, AZ10069-73-73-70=285
T18CACollin MorikawaLa Cañada Flintridge, CA10070-70-79-66=285
T18TXAndre GarciaMansfield, TX10067-74-70-74=285
T23TXJoseph AbellaPlano, TX5071-72-69-75=287
T21TXAlex HiggsDallas, TX5073-71-68-74=286
T21AZAlec BonePhoneix, AZ5073-69-70-74=286
T23CAHale FureyNewport Beach, CA5075-71-71-70=287
T30FLJordan GumbergFort Lauderdale, FL5064-80-69-75=288
T30NVBrady ExberLas Vegas, NV5071-72-73-72=288
T23CATaylor KnollRancho Cordova, CA5076-69-76-66=287
T30TXDavid LeeHouston, TX5071-71-74-72=288
T23CABen ShurVentura, CA5073-73-70-71=287
T30UTDevon PurserClearfield, UT5072-68-72-76=288
T30KoreaPeter Kyo Woon KooKorea5070-73-74-71=288
T30KSSam StevensWichita, KS5075-69-70-74=288
T30CASahith TheegalaChino Hills, CA5069-74-70-75=288
T23NYBrandon WuScarsdale, NY5066-73-75-73=287
T23CATrevor ClaytonClovis, CA5077-68-72-70=287
T23CAGordon NealeTrabuco Canyon, CA5072-73-71-71=287
T30CAOwen TaylorSan Juan Capistrano, CA5070-74-73-71=288

First played in 1915, the Southwestern Amateur has been played at a variety of sites throughout Arizona, California, Texas, Nevada and New Mexico on annual basis with the exception of a three- year hiatus from 1943-45 because of World War II. On four occasions the event has been played in Mexico.

Originally founded as a regional match play invitational tournament for private golf course members to compete against the nation’s best amateur players, the Southwestern Amateur has developed a stellar reputation as a high-quality competition for the nation’s top players. The tournament was changed to a stroke play event in 1966 to meet the growing demands of the tournament and the increased popularity of the game created during the Palmer-Nicklaus era.

The Southwestern Amateur has a long and distinguished list of previous champions that have gone on to great succeess on the PGA Tour and Champions Tour.


2021 James Leow
2020 (cancelled)
2019 Hunter Ostrom
2018 Wells Padgett
2017 Jino Sohn
2016 P.J. Samiere
2015 Dylan Healey
2014 Kyle Jones
2013 J.T. Poston
2012 Kevin Dougherty
2011 Stephan Carney
2010 Estanislao Guerrero
2009 Travis Wolf
2008 Matt Hoffenberg
2007 Aaron Weston
2006 Ben Fox
2005 Jay Choi
2004 Dustin Mills
2003 Brien Davis
2002 Nick Watney
2001 John R. Davis
2000 Robert Hamilton
1999 Ryan Palmer
1998 Russell Surber
1997 Edward Loar
1996 Scott Gibson
1995 Ryan Hietala
1994 David Lebeck
1993 Ted Purdy
1992 Scott Peterson
1991 Matt Blaugrund
1990 Mark Gilmartin
1989 Scott Frisch
1988 Scott Frisch
1987 Scott Frisch
1986 John O'Neil
1985 John O'Neil
1984 Jim Carter
1983 Jim Carter
1982 Tom Pernice, Jr.
1981 Corey Pavin
1980 Mark O'Meara
1979 Lennie Clements
1978 Mitch Mooney
1977 Jeff Kern
1976 Jay Haas
1975 Craig Stadler
1974 Stan Lee
1973 Dub Huckabee
1972 Guy Cullins
1971 Gary Sanders
1970 Bruce Ashworth
1969 Dr. Ed Updegraff
1968 Allen Miller
1967 Wayne Volimer
1966 Bill McCormick
1965 Dan Sommers
1964 Terry Dear
1963 Wayne Breck
1962 George Boutell
1961 Dr. Ed Updegraff
1960 Ralph Quiroz
1959 Jim Bernard
1958 Billy Moya
1957 Frank Redman
1956 Johnny Dawson
1955 Dr. Ed Updegraff
1954 Dr. Ed Updegraff
1953 Bill Knick
1952 Pat Rea
1951 Bob Goldwater
1950 Fred Chavez
1949 Lt. Richard Taylor
1948 Lt. Richard Taylor
1947 Vern Stewart
1946 Vic Blalack, Sr.
1945 (no tournament held)
1944 (no tournament held)
1943 (no tournament held)
1942 Bob Goldwater
1941 Blaine McNutt
1940 Vern Stewart
1939 Kim Bannister, Jr.
1938 Ralph Petty
1937 Kim Bannister, Jr.
1936 Kim Bannister, Jr.
1935 Jack Harden
1934 Vern Stewart
1933 Vern Stewart
1932 Vern Stewart
1931 Vern Stewart
1930 K.D. Harrison
1929 Dr. James Vance
1928 Kim Bannister, Sr.
1927 Bob Goldwater
1926 B.J. Ryerson
1925 F.C. Jordan
1924 Charles McArthur
1923 Dr. James Vance
1922 Dr. James Vance
1921 Dr. James Vance
1920 H.S. Corbett
1919 Kim Bannister, Sr.
1918 Kim Bannister, Sr.
1917 Dr. James Vance
1916 Dr. James Vance
1915 E.C. Robinson

You must be logged in with an active amateurgolf.com membership to register for this event.

Login or Signup to get started.


$395Includes up to four championship rounds with cart, one practice round with cart, breakfast and lunch each tournament day, and player gift

Welcome to the Southwestern Men's Amateur 2022 Championship online registration system, powered by AmateurGolf.com. Please enter your access code below. If you do not have an access code, please visit the tournament website to request an invitation.

Access Code:

AmateurGolf.com has partnered with HotelPlanner to negotiate special hotel rates and consolidate the best hotel rates available to the public for the tournament dates.

Find your hotel by using the links below.

HotelPlanner: Find your Southwestern Men's Amateur 2022 Championship tournament hotel
HotelPlanner: Find hotels for any location and date

Contact Information

John Ranslem, Executive Director
P.O. Box 842124
Houston, TX 77284
Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram