California State Fair 2021 Men's Championship
September 04 - 06 2021
Sacramento, CA


Tournament Overview

California State Fair 2021 Men's Championship
The State Fair Men's Amateur Championship is one of the oldest and most prestigious Amateur Championships in the West. The Championship is limited to 156 players. Competition commences over a 54-hole stroke play format with 18 holes played each day. The field is cut after 36 holes to the low 45 players & ties.

Search Terms

Format: Stroke Play
Categories: Men
Regions: Northern California, Pacific


Haggin Oaks: Alister MacKenzie Course Haggin Oaks: Alister MacKenzie Course
3645 Fulton Ave
Sacramento, CA  95821-1808
phone: (916) 808-2525
url: www.hagginoaks.com

Tournament News

In addition to the table results below, PDF versions of past results are available to view or download.

Showing results for

1CADevon BlingRidgecrest, CA40068-66-68=202
2CAMichael CliffFresno, CA30067-64-71=202
3CABerk HarveySan Jose, CA20071-65-68=204
4CAJamie CheathamSan Diego, CA20069-70-66=205
5CABlake HathcoatFresno, CA20069-68-69=206
T6CADylan VanderVeerEl Dorado Hills, CA10069-70-68=207
T6CALucas CarperSan Jose, CA10067-70-70=207
T8CACasey ScottIndio, CA10067-71-70=208
T8CAKyle MaspatSan Diego, CA10068-70-70=208
T8CARobert HamiltonGold River, CA10071-69-68=208
T8CACasey LeebrickSan Luis Obispo, CA10069-71-68=208
T12CAIan DahlCarmel, CA5068-70-71=209
T12CAMason TroikeRoseville, CA5071-66-72=209
T12CAMatthew SutherlandCarmichael, CA5073-69-67=209
T12CAThomas HutchisonSan Jose, CA5069-71-69=209
T16IDCarson BarryEagle, ID065-74-71=210
T16CAFinigan TillySan Carlos, CA072-71-67=210
T16CAHunter EpsonLong Beach, CA069-67-74=210
T16HIKyosuke HaraHonolulu, HI065-74-71=210
T16CASam HarnedRocklin, CA072-66-72=210
T16CanadaSam MeekCanada072-68-70=210
T22CABobby BuceyConcord, CA071-68-72=211
T22AZThomas LehmanScottsdale, AZ073-69-69=211
T22CanadaTony GilCanada076-64-71=211
T25CAAustin FoxFolsom, CA073-70-69=212
T25CAKaiwen LiuSan Diego, CA073-70-69=212
T25CAReid BuzbySan Francisco, CA072-70-70=212
T25CATrey DavisOlivehurst, CA071-70-71=212
T29CAEvan PetersonClovis, CA075-68-70=213
T29NVGriffin CooperYerington, NV073-68-72=213
31ThailandNatheethorn TeacharuangchitThailand075-68-71=214
T32CAAsh HakimSan Ramon, CA072-69-74=215
T32CAJeffrey Inouye-WongRoseville, CA071-72-72=215
T32CANicholas CaputoHollister, CA073-68-74=215
T35CAJack AvritArroyo Grande, CA069-73-74=216
T35CAMichael Jura IIIFresno, CA070-70-76=216
T35CARamiz JamalHuntington Beach, CA073-69-74=216
T38CAHayden HuiDublin, CA071-71-75=217
T38CAParamdeep SodhiFolson, CA070-73-74=217
T38WACostas PanayRedmond, WA070-73-74=217
T38CAJoseph ChunIrvine, CA073-70-74=217
T42CACollin YeeDavis, CA072-71-76=219
T42CAKento YamawakiEncinitas, CA073-70-76=219
T42CAOwen Calvin-SmithS. Pasadena, CA068-72-79=219
45AZTony HendricksPhoenix, AZ069-73-78=220
46ORRichie MikesellBend, OR069-74-80=223

On July 14th, 1925 a meeting of the Board of Directors and Tournament Committee of Del Paso Country Club was held. The question of holding a golf tournament during the State Fair was agreed upon. The event would take place at Del Paso C.C. on Labor Day Weekend. A week before the inaugural event, the Sacramento Clearing House donated a perpetual trophy costing $1000 to be awarded to the State Fair Champion See past champions list. The inaugural event was won by Geo Richie, from the Olympic Club.

For 80 years, the State Fair has been the premiere amateur championship in the area. To continue this premiere status, the championship evolved every year, always focusing on the players. The following lists some of the significant changes to the State Fair Championship:

1958 - State Fair goes from Match Play to Stroke Play
1964 - With too many entries, the State Fair Handicap moves to Ancil Hoffman
1996 - The State Fair Women's is created & hosted at Bartley Cavanaugh Golf Course
1997 - The State Fair Senior is created & hosted at Mather Golf Course
1998 - The State Fair Junior is created & hosted at Haggin Oaks Golf Course
2003 - The State Fair Masters is created & hosted at Bing Maloney Golf Course
2003 - The State Fair Men's Amateur Championship receives National Status

The single most influential person in the success of the championship is Frank Freer. As the Tournament Director for over 50 years, Frank has dedicated himself to the championship and is always a favorite among the players.


2021 Tony Chen
2020 Finigan Tilly
2019 Devon Bling
2018 Devon Bling
2017 Blake Abercrombie
2016 Ramiz Jamal
2015 Trevor Clayton
2014 Corey Pereira
2013 Cody Paladino
2012 Brandon Hagy
2011 Matt Hansen
2010 Grant Rappleye
2009 Ryan Hallisey
2008 Matt Grush
2007 Brandon Harkins
2006 Bob Niger
2005 Erik Flores
2004 Peter Campbell
2003 Eric Restrepo
2002 JJ Jakovac
2001 Robert Hamilton
2000 Robert Hamilton
1999 T.J. Moulton
1998 Gregg Wilkinson
1997 John Enright
1996 Chris Candelario
1995 Kris Isackson
1994 Joe Acosta Jr
1993 Rob Martin III
1992 Joey Ferrari
1991 Mike Lane
1990 Joey Ferrari
1989 Lou Alvarez
1988 Steve Simpkin
1987 John Kannaday
1986 Lou Alvarez
1985 Joe Tamburino
1984 Kevin Sutherland
1983 Clifford Smith
1982 Robert Meyer
1981 Phil Arinno
1980 Jim Sanderson
1979 Jerry Wilson
1978 Phil Arinno
1977 Phil Arinno
1976 Vic Calicchia
1975 Roland Lamontagne
1974 Phil Arinno
1973 Jack Koski
1972 Barry Hansen
1971 Pete Gutierrez
1970 Ray Arinno
1969 Ray Arinno
1968 Rob Amerian
1967 Ray Arinno
1966 Roland Lamontagne
1965 Barry Hansen
1964 Bob E. Smith
1963 George Archer
1962 Dick Lotz
1961 Dick Lotz
1960 Verne Callison
1959 Kent Winton
1958 Verne Callison
1957 Elmer Clites
1956 John McMullin
1955 Allen Geiberger
1954 Jim Tom Blair
1953 Verne Callison
1952 Verne Callison
1951 Frank Toronto
1950 Ken Venturi
1949 Bill Ogden Jr.
1948 Martin Stanovich
1947 Verne Callison
1946 Larry Crockett
1945 Earl Stewart
1944 Verne Callison
1943 Verne Callison
1942 Bill Ogden Jr.
1941 Ralph Presby
1940 Ralph Presby
1939 Frank Toronto
1938 Jack Colmar
1937 H.J. Dufour
1936 H.J. Dufour
1935 Orv Suttles
1934 Dennis Hession
1933 Arthur Sato
1932 Irv Jenkins
1928 to 1931 not held
1927 Eddie Lyon
1926 M.E. Pendleton
1925 George Richie

Welcome to the online registration system, powered by AmateurGolf.com. Please enter your access code below. If you do not have an access code, please visit the to request an invitation.

Access Code:

AmateurGolf.com has partnered with HotelPlanner to negotiate special hotel rates and consolidate the best hotel rates available to the public for the tournament dates.

Find your hotel by using the links below.

HotelPlanner: Find your California State Fair 2021 Men's Championship tournament hotel
HotelPlanner: Find hotels for any location and date

Contact Information

Chuck Honeycutt, Tournament Director
1950 Portsmouth Drive
El Dorado Hills, CA 95762
phone: 916-203-6092

Get the Strackaline Book for Haggin Oaks: Alister MacKenzie Course

StrackaLine's world renowned laser scanned greens guides have been helping golfers make more putts since 2007. With StrackaLine greens guides and yardage books, you can rely on the same data used by tour players and their caddies for the most precise green-reading.

Get 25% off StrackaLine by using the links below.

Strackaline: Haggin Oaks: Alister MacKenzie Course
Strackaline: Search 10000+ Courses
Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram