San Francisco City 2020 Men's Championship PRE-QUALIFIER
February 14 2020
San Francisco, CA


Tournament Overview

San Francisco City 2020 Men's Championship PRE-QUALIFIER
As the field for the Men's Championship has reached 120 players, all additional entrants will enter the pre- qualifier as described below.

Open to players with a handicap index of 6.4 or less.

Those entering pre-qualifying will pay an entry fee of $150 for the pre-qualifier to be held at Lincoln Park. Those advancing from the pre- qualifier will pay an additional $150 and will play in the 36-hole stroke play qualifying played at TPC Harding Park and Lincoln Park Golf Courses. The low 32 will then advance to the match play phase of the championship. There will be no refunds after entries close.

A schedule of all dates of play can be found on the tournament website sfgolfchampionship.com.

The oldest municipal tournament in the USA. Match play event with scratch men's, senior, women's, senior women's and open flight divisions. Past champions include Ken Venturi, Harvie Ward, Juli Inkster, Bob Rosburg, George Archer, and Dorothy Delasin. Some of the 'non winners' include Tom Watson and Johnny Miller. Click the 'history' tab for more about this wonderful event.

Search Terms

Format: Stroke Play
Categories: Men
Regions: Northern California, Pacific


Lincoln Park Golf Course Lincoln Park Golf Course
3139 Clement St
San Francisco, CA  94121
phone: (415) 221-9911

Tournament News

The following results are available to view or download:

2020 Final Results
2019 Final Results

by Pete Wlodkowski

The San Francisco City Championship was inaugurated in 1917, and is the Country's oldest municipal golf tournament. The Women's division was added in 1958. In its early years, the tournament was hosted by the Sun-Bulletin newspaper and has had numerous sponsors throughout its history such as Bob Varner, Tom Culligan, and Pepsi.

The name of the tournament is deceiving, as the field is typically made up of the best amateurs from throughout Northern California. As a matter of fact, the 1999 field included Mark Murphy of Waterville, Ireland, who made it to the quarterfinals before being ousted in a nail-biter by Gary Vanier. (Vanier eventually lost to Randy Haag in what was called the best final since Ken Venturi beat Harvey Ward in 1956 in front of 12,000 fans.)

Another thing that makes the City Championship a unique event is the inclusion of an "Open" Division, allowing for amateurs of varying abilities to compete. The top two flights in the Open Division, named the "Venturi" and "Susko" respectively, are named for two of the tournaments' most popular competitors, Ken Venturi and John Susko, the latter of whom met an untimely death from Crohn's disease in 1983. Susko is remembered as a popular Lincoln Park golfer who won the City Championship in 1978 and 1980, won the Alameda Commuters in 1981, and participated in a number of National amateur events even with a condition that often sidelined him for weeks at a time.

Those familiar with the City Championship will tell you about the tradition of playing the ball as it lies at San Francisco's Lincoln and Harding Park golf courses in some often very wintry conditions. More than one player has marched in to the tournament office claiming that they will never play again, but their applications usually find their way in the following year. Conditions are the same for everyone; the ability to accept the occasional bad break is paramount to a competitor's success.

Past champions include 1964 US Open Champion Ken Venturi, 1999 US Women's Open Champion Julie Inkster, and 1969 Masters Champion George Archer. More recently, LPGA Tour player Dorothy Delasin* of Daly City (winner of the 1998 US Junior Girls Championship and 1999 US Women's Amateur) claimed the Women's City Championship in 1998.

Waseem AfzalSan Francisco, CA
Ian AlbrechtSonoma, CA
Kevin AlexanderNapa, CA
Lawrence AliotoCorte Madera, CA
Elisandro AragonHighlands Ranch, CO
William AyresSan Jose, CA
Armanjot BajwaBrentwood, CA
Aram BerberianStockton, CA
Nick BobosSan Francisco, CA
Brandon BoneSanta Rosa, CA
Christopher BottWalnut Creek, CA
jesse brankenSan Francisco, CA
Erik BredesenMinneapolis, MN
patrick burdaModesto, CA
Mikey BurklandAlamo, CA
Adam Cartozian-WilliamsModesto, CA
Chris ChengHong Kong, Hong Kong
Brendon ChoeOrinda, CA
Isaiah ChoiSan Ramon, CA
Andre ChungSan Francisco, CA
Jonathan ChurtonSan Francisco, CA
Mike CidUnion City, CA
Dorian ClaveauStanford, CA
Jonathan CurranScottsdale, AZ
Adrian DavisSan Leandro, CA
Nathan DuffySan Leandro, CA
Sam DundeeSan Francisco, CA
Samuel EchiksonSan Francisco, CA
Will ElmoreSan Francisco, CA
Charlie FarrellSan Francisco, CA
Clayton FarrisSebastopol, CA
Fred FisherSan Francisco, CA
Frank GawronskiPetaluma, CA
Jacob GoodeSan Francisco, CA
Jalen GriffinSan Francisco, CA
Alejandro GutierrezSanta clara, Mexico
Jordan HashimotoDanville, CA
Bradley HaskinReno, NV
Damen HauswaldKensington, CA
Christopher HaworthSan Francisco, CA
Thomas HaywardPacifica, CA
Joseph HendersonOrinda, CA
Brett HighleySan Francisco, CA
Mitchell HoeyAlamo, CA
Bradley HoginPetaluma, CA
William HoleSan Francisco, CA
Wes HollabaughRoseville, CA
Ronnie HunMacau, Macau
Naoki IwasakiSan Jose, CA
Michael JensonSan Francisco, CA
Brandon KellyRancho Murieta, CA
Jack KennedyMenlo Park , CA
Peter KimSan Francisco, CA
Matthew KressSaratoga, CA
Alex LemmonGlen Ellen, CA
Carson LevitSan Francisco, CA
Ty MaciasSan Francisco, CA
Andrew McDonaldSan Francisco, CA
ethan melvinsan ramon, CA
Jason MelzerOakland, CA
Mark MeroneySan Francisco, CA
Thomas Molumphysan mateo, CA
JR MontesSan Diego, CA
Bryan MoquinRedwood City, CA
Trevor MoquinRedwood City, CA
andy morenSan Rafael, CA
Jordan NordbySebastopol, CA
Hans OlsonSan Francisco, CA
Brian PeriquetSan Francisco, CA
Isaac PinedaSan Ramon, CA
Maxwell PlankSan Francisco , CA
Charles PorterSan Francisco, CA
Chris QvaleSan francisco, CA
Jack RendeSan Francisco, CA
Chris RendlerManhattan beach, CA
Ian RiccardiSanta Clara, CA
Deane RinaldiSanta Cruz, CA
Jasper Jo RivesTiburon, CA
Nick RosenheimSan Francisco, CA
Gus ScheidemannSan Francisco, CA
Scott ScholtzSan Francisco, CA
David ScottMillbrae, CA
ishaan sensan ramon, CA
Lewis SimonTorrance, CA
Derek SimperSan Francisco, CA
Eric SlawterSan Francisco, CA
Jamal SpellerSanta Clara, CA
Jack SteckSan Jose, CA
Ryan StewartPETALUMA, CA
Alex SylvanLivermore, CA
Thomas TatumSan Francisco, CA
Robby TorresSan Jose, CA
Scott TsuchiyamaSan Francisco, CA
Isi TuanakiWestlake Village, CA
Matthew WatkinsNovato, CA
Kyle WilkinsonSan Francisco, CA
Nick WooNovato, CA
Jeff WrightVallejo, CA
Zhiheng ZhangSan Lorenzo, CA

Welcome to the online registration system, powered by AmateurGolf.com. Please enter your access code below. If you do not have an access code, please visit the to request an invitation.

Access Code:

Contact Information

Tournament Director
San Francisco, CA 94132
Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube