NCAA Div. II: Match play begins
HERSHEY, Pa. – Barry defeated Nova Southeastern 2-2-1 on a stroke tiebreaker in the NCAA championships match play semifinals to advance to Friday’s title match against Lynn.

The No. 3-seeded Buccaneers beat the defending champion Sharks by two strokes after each team won two of the five individual matches and split in another.

Barry senior Marcus Segerstrom lost his match to Hunter O’Mahoney by three strokes. Segerstrom shot 76, while O’Mahoney had a 2-over 73.

Barry junior Scott Smyers dropped his match to Mitch Farrer by three strokes. Smyers shot 74, while Farrer finished at even par. Smyers had one birdie to Farrer’s four. That put the Sharks up 2-0.

Barry senior Simon Forsslund came from five strokes down on the back nine to tie Ian Facey. Forsslund used a birdie on the 187-yard par-3 13th to recover two strokes when Facey bogeyed. Forsslund parred both the 420-yard, par-4 11th and the 554-yard, par-5 14th, picking up two strokes as Facey bogeyed both. After a run of three consecutive pars from both on Nos. 15-17, Forsslund parred the 456-yard 18th and Facey bogeyed to even the match. Both shot 2-over 73.

Barry junior Jared Dalga shot a 1-over 72 to defeat Ricardo Celia by six strokes. Dalga had three birdies and won nine holes outright, while splitting seven others.

Barry freshman Adam Svensson beat Ben Taylor by two strokes to win his match, giving each side two individual victories. Svensson shot 1-under 70. Taylor, who eagled the par-5 first hole, led by a stroke after the front nine. But Svensson made nine consecutive pars on the back nine and Taylor had three birdies to give the Bucs a two-stroke victory that decided the tiebreaker.

ABOUT THE NCAA Division II Championship

The National Championship of championship of NCAA Division II men's college golf teams. From its inception through 2010, it was a 72-hole stroke play team competition, with an additional award for the lowest scoring individual competitor. The team format changed starting in 2011 to 54 holes of stroke play followed by an eight-team single elimination medal match play competition. The 54-hole individual leader is the individual champion.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube