Royal Liverpool to host 2019 Walker Cup
15 May 2013
by Golfweek

see also: The Walker Cup, Royal Liverpool Golf Club

Royal Liverpool Golf Club, Hoylake has been named the site of the 2019 Walker Cup. The 47th Walker Cup will be contested in 2019, which aligns with Royal Liverpool's 150th anniversary.

Hoylake was the venue for a 1921 match between the United States and Great Britain. The inaugural Walker Cup was played the following year, at National Golf Links of America in Southampton, New York. The matches return to National Golf Links in September.

The Walker Cup previously was contested at Hoylake in 1983, when Jay Sigel's Americans overtook Charlie Green’s GB&I team, 13.5 to 10.5. The Open Championship will return to Hoylake in 2014, and in 2012, the club hosted the Ricoh Women’s British Open. Hoylake has hosted The Amateur Championship 18 times, and hosted the Curtis Cup in 1992.

“The Walker Cup is one of the most historic and prestigious events in golf. We are delighted to be taking the match back to Royal Liverpool in its 150th year,” said executive director of championships Johnnie Cole-Hamilton. “Hoylake will provide an outstanding challenge for both teams. It is one of the finest tests of links golf to be found anywhere, and has hosted many successful championships over the years.”

After this year’s Walker Cup match at National Golf Links, the 2015 match will be at Royal Lytham and St. Annes Golf Club. The 2017 Walker Cup will be played at Los Angeles Country Club.

Information from The R&A was used in this report

ABOUT THE The Walker Cup

The Walker Cup Match is a biennial 10-man amateur team competition between the USA and a team composed of players from Great Britain and Ireland and selected by The R&A. It is played over two days with 18 singles matches and eight foursomes (alternate-shot) matches.

The first United States Walker Cup Team, which in 1922 defeated the GB&I side, 8-4, at the National Golf Links of America, is considered among the best teams ever and included Francis Ouimet, Bob Jones, Charles “Chick” Evans and Jess Sweetser. Many of the game’s greatest players have taken part in Walker Cup competition, including U.S. Open champions Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth for the USA and Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose for Great Britain and Ireland.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube