WAC Tournament: New Mexico State wins it
HENDERSON, NEV. -- New Mexico State won its sixth WAC title at the WAC Men's Golf Championship at Rio Secco Golf Club in Henderson, Nev. The Aggies carded a three-round total of 887 to win by six strokes over UT Arlington.

UT Arlington senior Paul McConnell won the individual title. McConnell shot a 3-under par 69 in the final round to card a 2-over 218 for the three rounds. New Mexico State freshman Kenneth Fadke placed second (220), while San Jose State's Landon Polterock and New Mexico State's Justin Shin tied for third with a three-day total of 221.

In the rest of the team competition, UT Arlington was second (893) and San Jose State was third (900). UTSA finished fourth at 903, Idaho was fifth at 910, Utah State placed sixth (915), Denver seventh (917), Texas State was eighth (918), Seattle U ninth (930) and Louisiana Tech was tenth at 933.

Also announced today were the all-WAC teams and top awards. San Jose State's Cody Blick was voted the WAC's Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year by the 10 head coaches. Coach of the Year honors went to Mike Dirks of New Mexico State.

ABOUT THE WAC Championship

54 hole men's collegiate championship of the Western Athletic Conference. Team (best four scores out of five players each round) and individual competitions.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube