Florida Azalea Amateur: Dramatic win for Suk
18 Mar 2013
by Benjamin Larsen of AmateurGolf.com

see also: Florida Azalea Amateur Golf Tournament, Palatka Golf Club, Cyril Suk Profile

Winner Cyril Suk (left) and runner-up Osten Waite
Winner Cyril Suk (left) and runner-up Osten Waite

PALATKA, Fla. (March 17, 2013) -- Talk about a flair for the dramatic.

Needing an eagle on the 18th hole of Sunday's final round to have a chance to force a playoff, Osten Waite holed out from 90 yards to seemingly pull off the miraculous comeback to force extra holes. Cyril Suk, however, had other plans.

Suk, a Jacksonville University freshman, buried an eight-foot birdie putt to keep his distance and clinch the tournament by one shot on a wild day at Palatka Golf Club.

The two were tied entering the final round of play, having shot 69-68 throughout the first two rounds of play. They battled throughout Sunday’s final round only to have it all come down to a miraculous finish.

Tyler Hock was alone in third place to a spectacular closing 65. One shot behind hock was Kevin Jorden.

First-round leader Logan Stauffer finished tied for 14th.

A Golfweek/amateurgolf.com rankings event, the Florida Azalea Invitational first began in 1958 as a two-man team tournament. Throughout its history, the field has included numerous players who went on to success at the game’s highest level, including Tommy Aaron, the 1973 Masters champion, and Bob Murphy, an 11-time PGA Tour winner. Peter Uihlein won the event in 2008.

The host course is a Donald Ross design dating back to 1925. It only checks in at 6,000 yards from the tips but proves to challenge the ever-improving field with its well-placed bunkers and small and fast greens.

Results For Florida Azalea Amateur Golf Tournament
1Czech RepublicCyril SukCzech Republic30069-68-65--202
2FLOsten WaiteJacksonville, FL20069-68-66--203
3FLTyler HockOcala, FL10077-65-65--207
4FLKevin JordenJuno Beach, FL10072-69-67--208
T5FLRobert GeibelPembroke Pines, FL10072-69-69--210

View full results for Florida Azalea Amateur Golf Tournament

ABOUT THE Florida Azalea

The Florida Azalea was started in 1958 as a two-man team tourney. The field has, over the years, boasted players who have gone on to greatness at the professional level. Tommy Aaron, who teamed with Dan Sykes for the 1960 Florida Azalea team title, went on to win the 1973 Masters. And Bob Murphy, winner of back-to-back Florida Azalea titles while playing for the University of Florida golf team in 1965-66, was an 11-time winner on the PGA Tour.

More recently, there is the 1997 champ Ryuji Imada of Japan.

The 220-man Azalea field competes in one of six flights. The first flight is Championship, with a cut after 36-holes. The next five flights are Net.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube