Texas North Four-Ball: Cook/Maurer take title
FRISCO, Texas (Feb. 25, 2013) -- The 2013 North Four-Ball Championship presented by UST Mamiya concluded in exciting fashion with a two-team playoff determining the eventual champions at the Stonebriar Country Club - Fazio Course.

The teams of Marcus Jones and Malcolm Holland followed a first round 70 with a blistering second round of 65 to take the early clubhouse lead at nine under par, 135. Peyton Cook and Scott Maurer, firing a first round 68, continued their great play with a second round 67 to tie for the lead. The nine under par score posted by the two teams was enough to hold off the first round leaders and eventually sent them to the 18th hole for a sudden-death playoff. After matching pars on the 18th, the teams moved on to the first hole and continued matching pars for the next four holes. The playoff lasted almost two hours and finally came to an end on the fifth hole (sixth playoff hole) when Scott Maurer holed an 18-foot putt for birdie, making he and his partner Peyton Cook the 2013 North Four-Ball Champions.

Zach Atkinson and Brad Gibson followed a first round 71, with a 65 to finish in a four-way tie for third place at eight under par with Mike and Riley Goff, Ben McCaslin and Scott Abbott, and first round co-leaders David Lee and David Reynolds. Despite the cold mornings, and windy afternoons, players enjoyed the lush fairways and fast greens maintained by the Stonebriar staff. We would like to thank Stonebriar Country Club for providing the top-notch facility and UST Mamiya our presenting sponsor.

View results for Texas North Four-Ball Golf Championship

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011