TXGA to manage Trans-Miss Golf Assoc.
(From the Texas Golf Association)

Effective January 1, 2013, the Texas Golf Association (TGA) assumed the role of managing agent of the Trans-Mississippi Golf Association (TMGA), one of the oldest and most prestigious amateur golf associations in the United States.

Founded in 1901, the TMGA promotes the amateur game of golf by providing a number of services for its member clubs, including conducting three annual championships – the Trans-Mississippi Amateur, Senior Amateur and Four-Ball – and awarding the Trans-Miss Turf Scholarship Fund, which grants educational scholarships each year to young men and women pursuing careers as golf course superintendents or in other areas of turf management at 21 universities across the U.S.

“We are excited to have joined forces with the TGA and their staff to take our organization to a new level with our championships and our support for young men and women interested in pursuing a career in agronomy,” said John Pigg, president of the TMGA.

Pigg added, “When we changed the format of our Amateur Championship a few years ago to allow college players to participate it became apparent that we needed to team up with an association that had the capability of greatly enhancing the players’ championship experience. The TGA and their staff possess not only the necessary resources and expertise, but also have a well-earned reputation within the golf community of running first-class events.”

Rob Addington, Executive Director of the TGA, and David Prinz, a longtime member of the TGA Championship Department, will oversee the day-to-day operations of the TMGA, including the administration of the association’s three annual championships and Turf Scholarship Fund.

“Our affiliation with the Trans-Miss and what it stands for was a good match for both organizations,” Addington said. “We look forward to working with some of the top facilities around the country to further the TMGA’s mission of promoting and advancing the true spirit of amateur golf.”

Results For Trans-Mississippi Championship
1CABryson DeChambeauClovis, CA90065-65-67-69--266
T2CAJeremy SandersChatsworth, CA70068-69-66-68--271
T2ARAustin CookAR70065-69-67-70--271
T4OKCharlie SaxonTulsa, OK50071-69-66-66--272
T4CAMax HomaValencia, CA50065-70-67-70--272

View full results for Trans-Mississippi Championship

ABOUT THE Trans-Miss Championship

The Trans-Miss is one of the oldest and most storied golf tournaments in the United States. For 106 years the championship was played in a match play format. Past champions include Jack Nicklaus (1958 and 1959), Charles Coe (1947, 1949, 1952 and 1956), Deane Beman (1960), George Archer (1963), Ben Crenshaw (1972), Gary Koch (1973), Bob Tway (1978), Mark Brooks (1978) and other professional tour notables. In 1987 the championship was changed to a mid- amateur age requirement, and a senior division was also added. Starting in 2010, the Trans- Mississippi Championship, returned to its roots as an open amateur tournament, and immediately established itself as a "must-play" among top collegiate and mid-am players, while changing to a 72-hole stroke play format. The field size starrts at 144 players from Trans- Mississippi Golf Association member clubs (or players receiving a special invitation from the Championship Committee). After 36 holes, a cut is made to the low 54 and ties who play the final two rounds.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube