Smith, Drakeford reach Australian Am final
Cameron Smith
Cameron Smith

SOUTH OAKLEY, VICTORIA, Australia (Jan. 19, 2013) -- National Squad members Cameron Smith (QLD) and Geoff Drakeford (VIC) will face off in the Australian Men’s Amateur Championship final at Commonwealth Golf Club on Sunday.

The pair advanced through quarter and semi finals on Saturday to their first Australian Amateur final.

Drakeford, a Commonwealth member, defeated Dylan Perry (NSW) in the quarter final before beating Kiwi Sam An 6&4 to reach the final.

Smith defeated Kiwi Blair Riordan 3&2 the semi final after accounting for Englishman Neil Raymond in the morning quarter final.

The 36 hole final begins at 8.45am with the second 18 commencing at 1.15pm.

The Australian Men’s Amateur champion earns an exemption into the 2013 Emirates Australian Open.

Results For Australian Men's Amateur Championship
WinAustraliaCameron SmithAustralia1000
Runner-upAustraliaGeoffrey DrakefordAustralia700
SemifinalsNew ZealandBlair RiordanNew Zealand500
SemifinalsNew ZealandSam AnNew Zealand500
QuarterfinalsAustraliaDylan PerryAustralia300

View full results for Australian Men's Amateur Championship

ABOUT THE Australian Men's Amateur

The Australian Men's and Women's Amateur Championships are Australia's oldest Amateur Golf Championships, with both having been played since 1894.

Players contest 36-holes stroke play qualifying, with the leading 64 men qualifying for elimination match play. The initial field size is 216 men.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube