Australian Women's Am: Minjee Lee, Jenny Lee in final
SOUTH OAKLEY, VICTORIA, Australia (Jan. 19, 2013) -- It will be an all-Lee affair in the Australian Women’s Amateur final with Minjee Lee (WA) to face Jenny Lee (SA) on Sunday at Commonwealth Golf Club.

Minjee, making her second appearance in the final, will be looking to go one better after her narrow loss in 2011.

Jenny defeated Kiwi Julianne Alvarez in the quarter final before beating Hannah Green (WA) 2&1 in the afternoon to advance to the final.

Minjee recorded a 3&2 win over Japan’s Kotone Hori before a dominant 7&5 win over Julienne Soo (VIC).

The 36 hole final begins at 8.30am with the second 18 commencing at 1.00pm.

The Australian Women’s Amateur champion earns an exemption into the ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open at Royal Canberra in February.

Results For Australian Women's Amateur Championship
WinAustraliaMinjee LeeAustralia1000
Runner-upAustraliaJenny LeeAustralia700
SemifinalsAustraliaJulienne SooAustralia500
SemifinalsAustraliaHannah GreenAustralia500
QuarterfinalsKoreaJi-Hyun OhKorea400

View full results for Australian Women's Amateur Championship

ABOUT THE Australian Women's Amateur

The Australian Women's Amateur Championship is contested over 36-holes stroke play qualifying, with the leading 32 players progressing to elimination match play. It is open to players of all ages with an initial field size of 72 players.

It was first played in 1894 and past winners include touring professionals Nikki Campbell, Sarah Oh and Kristie Smith.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube