Quarters set at Australian Men's Amateur
SOUTH OAKLEY, VICTORIA, Australia (Jan. 18, 2013) -- Five Australians and three internationals make up the last eight players at the Australian Men’s Amateur Championship at Commonwealth Golf Club.

Commonwealth member Geoff Drakeford (VIC) is through to the quarter finals where he's joined by Cameron Smith (QLD), Dylan Perry (NSW), Damien Jordan (QLD), Dale Brandt-Richards (NSW) and internationals Blair Riordan (NZ), Sam An (NZ) and Neil Raymond (ENG).

National Squad member Drakeford defeated reigning Australian junior champion Tyler Hodge (NZ) 4&2 while Smith beat Anthony Murdaca 3&1.

New Zealander Blair Riordan will play former pro Damien Jordan.

Quarter Finals:

Geoff Drakeford (VIC) v Dylan Perry (NSW)

Sam An (NZ) v Dale Brandt-Richards (NSW)

Neil Raymond (ENG) v Cameron Smith (QLD)

Blair Riordan (NZ) v Damien Jordan (QLD)

Results For Australian Men's Amateur Championship
WinAustraliaCameron SmithAustralia1000
Runner-upAustraliaGeoffrey DrakefordAustralia700
SemifinalsNew ZealandBlair RiordanNew Zealand500
SemifinalsNew ZealandSam AnNew Zealand500
QuarterfinalsAustraliaDylan PerryAustralia300

View full results for Australian Men's Amateur Championship

ABOUT THE Australian Men's Amateur

The Australian Men's and Women's Amateur Championships are Australia's oldest Amateur Golf Championships, with both having been played since 1894.

Players contest 36-holes stroke play qualifying, with the leading 64 men qualifying for elimination match play. The initial field size is 216 men.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube