Top seeds fall at Australian Amateur
SOUTH OAKLEY, VICTORIA, Australia (Jan. 17, 2013) -- Top seeds fell on a sizzling first day of Match Play action at the Australian Men’s Amateur Championship as temperatures soared in Melbourne. Number 1 seed Brady Watt (WA) lost 5&3 to Anthony Houston (VIC) while Number 2 seed Todd Sinnott (VIC) lost to England’s Neil Raymond 4&3.

Houston will now play Commonwealth Golf Club and National Squad member Geoff Drakeford in the second round. Fellow National Squad member Cameron Smith (QLD) endured a tough battle with fellow Queenslander Kade McBride and won on the 19th hole.

Anthony Murdaca (SA) defeated Ryan Laird (VIC) to progress to the second round where he’ll face Viraat Badhwar (QLD).

Ryan Ruffels, son of tennis great Ray, defeated Jarryd Felton to make it through to Round 2. The second and third round Match Play will be played on Friday.

Results For Australian Men's Amateur Championship
WinAustraliaCameron SmithAustralia1000
Runner-upAustraliaGeoffrey DrakefordAustralia700
SemifinalsNew ZealandBlair RiordanNew Zealand500
SemifinalsNew ZealandSam AnNew Zealand500
QuarterfinalsAustraliaDylan PerryAustralia300

View full results for Australian Men's Amateur Championship

ABOUT THE Australian Men's Amateur

The Australian Men's and Women's Amateur Championships are Australia's oldest Amateur Golf Championships, with both having been played since 1894.

Players contest 36-holes stroke play qualifying, with the leading 64 men qualifying for elimination match play. The initial field size is 216 men.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube