SF City Championship: Women's Qualifying Results 2/18

By Lila Hillard, exclusive to amateurgolf.com

SAN FRANCISCO, CA (February 18, 2006) -- Forty contestants faced stiff competition as well as inclement weather today in the qualifying round for the San Francisco City Women’s Championship at Harding Park. Judith Powell, the Tournament director, described this group as the strongest field yet. “36 players have an index of 5 or below.” This group will be cut to 16 (including defending champion Sally Krueger) who will start match play competition over the next two weeks.

Playing this year in the qualifier was last year’s qualifier medalist title-holder Christina Hirano, of Pinole. Hirano, as a 16 year old, made it to the finals last year, playing 38 holes against Krueger before Krueger captured her tenth win of this event. Eva Monisteri, the 2003 champion, and Eden Anderson, the 2001 champion, were also on hand to attempt to regain the champion honors.

Medalist today was Christina Stockton from Auburn who shot a 75.

The youngest player was Grace Na of Oakland, just 12 years old and playing in this tournament for the second time. She tied for third with Hirano with a 79.

The cut was 82.

In addition to the competition, the women faced a nasty San Francisco rain.

“I was amazed. The minute the women started, the rain began. It was a cold, cold rain that can really slow you down”, observed Sandy Hinzmann, the Northern California Golf Association Rules Official on hand to monitor the play. And indeed the pace was slow. The foursomes took 5-6 hours to finish the rounds, with two foursomes getting a red card warning to pick up the pace.

“It even hailed during the play today, covering a couple of greens”, stated Edrick Pasqual, the assistant tournament director.

In spite of the difficult conditions, first time player Kelly Wilson of Dorado Hills had a great attitude and made the cut with an 80. “The course was in great condition. At one point we had sleet. It rained a lot but everyone had the same conditions and everyone was soaked just like me.”

It is this indomitable attitude that makes these competitors so impressive. The match play will continue on Saturday February 15th, with 8 players advancing to the next round on Sunday February 26th. Four remaining players will play in the semi-finals on Saturday March 4th, with the finals on Sunday March 5th. All matches will be played at Harding Park and are open for public viewing.

* * *

Quaifying Scores from Saturday, February 18 follow:

75 86
Christina Stockton Lauren Dobashi
78 Rachel Moreaux
Eva Monisteri Salla Rapakko
Melissa Bagley 87
Valerie Ogawa Olivia Chang
Kelsey Kerr Rachel Sibbitt
79 Samantha Esguerra
Christina Hirano 88
Grace Na Caroline Yao
Diana Tan 89
80 Jennifer Alexander
Diane Kwon
Jennifer Hirano 91
Kai Delen-Briones Monica Kim
Katrina Delen-Briones
Kelly Wilson
Helen Liu 93
81 Sasha Cruz
Diana Hong
Eden Anderson
Emily Dougherty 95
Nell O'Donnell Shan Bai
82 Playoff
Emily Childs
Missed cut
Jennifer Hoene NS
83 Jari-Lee Tolentino
Ashley Edwards
85 WD
Brooke Green Joy Kim
Keiko Fukuda NS
Michelle Mitra Julie Hahn
Julie Kindell
Patricia Cornett
Rosalie-Wil Tolentino
Sally Krueger

ABOUT THE San Francisco City WOMEN'S



Open to the first 60 entries received. No index required. Qualifying will consist of one 18-hole stroke play round. Along with the defending champion, who will hold the number two seed, the low 15 scores will advance to the Women’s Championship Flight. The next 16 contestants will be seeded in the Juli Inkster Flight. Individual scores will determine seeding for match play. Contestants who don’t qualify for the Women’s Championship or Inkster Flight will be refunded $125. Entrants who are a no show will not be entitled to a refund. All rounds will be played at TPC Harding Park Golf Course. Those contestants who post the 32nd and 33rd low scores will be deemed alternate #1 and #2, respectively.

The oldest municipal tournament in the USA. Match play event with scratch senior, women's and net divisions. Past champions include Ken Venturi, George Archer, and Dorothy Delasin. Some of the 'non winners' include Tom Watson and Johnny Miller. Click the 'history' tab for more about this wonderful event.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube