Florida Cup Matches: North Team Defends Title
10 Feb 2006
see also: Florida Cup Challenge Matches, Creek Course At Hammock Dunes


JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA (Feb 10, 2006) -– North Florida becomes the first team in Florida Cup history to defend the title as they defeated the South team by a score of 17 points to 15 points at Timuquana Country Club in Jacksonville on February 9-10, 2006. With this win, the North now leads the series 3-2.

After the first day of the Florida Cup Matches, the South team led the North team 8 ½ points to 7 ½ points. In the morning round of four-ball match play, the North team led after earning 4 ½ points while the South team gained 3 ½ points. In the second round of foursomes alternate shot, the South team jumped in front winning five of the eight matches taking the lead by one point going into the final round of singles match play.

On the final day, the North team gained 9 ½ points to the South’s 6 ½ points in singles match play giving North Florida the title for the second year in a row. The 2003 State Amateur Champion Richard Maddox led the North team winning his match 5-4 over Jim Weick. In a battle of 2005 Champions, Mid-Amateur Champion Jon Veneziano defeated reigning Amateur Champion Ryan Abbate 4-3. David Anthony and Andy Purnell, both playing for the North, also won their matches 4-3. Bret Voisin, of the North team and Mid-Amateur runner-up, defeated Brian Johnson 2 up as did Peter Dachisen win his match 2 up. Anthony and fellow North team member Michael Gilbourne each won all of their three matches in the event. Leading the South team was Brent Bush who defeated Mid-Senior Champion David Sutton 6-4. Bush and teammate Rick Bauch went undefeated during the tournament with a 3-0 record. It was an exciting final round as eight of the singles matches came down to the last hole with three finishing at all square.

Held every two years, the Florida Cup Matches vie the top 16 amateurs from North Florida versus the top 16 amateurs from South Florida. Using a Ryder-Cup format, the winner is determined by the number of points earned throughout the two days. The Matches were originally set for November 3-4, 2005 but were postponed due to Hurricane Wilma. This is the first time that a team has defended the Cup. In 2003, North Florida won the Matches 20-12 to even the series at 2-2. In 2001, South Florida won with an 18.5 to 13.5 victory at Lago Mar Country Club in Plantation. North Florida won the Matches in 1999 and the South team won in 1997.

Playing for the North Team was Cap Caponi, of Orlando, Peter Dachisen, of Wesley Chapel, Ken Godwin, of Ocala, Curtis Madson, of Mount Dora, Robert Parker, of Sanford, Bruce Scamehorn, of Winter Haven, Kim Schwencke, from Temple Terrace, Doug Snoap, from Apopka, Bret Voisin, of Orlando, David Anthony, of Jacksonville, Michael Gilbourne, from Neptune Beach, Joe Cristillo, of Crystal River, Andy Purnell, of Jacksonville, David Sutton, of Maitland, Jon Veneziano, of Mount Dora, and Richard Maddox, from Panama City.

The South Team included Rick Bauch, of Naples, Eddie Bass, of University Park, Lenny Loyd, from Port Saint Lucie, Carey Watson, from Coral Springs, Brian Johnson, from Coral Springs, Mark Leetzow, of Sarasota, Ryan Abbate, of Fort Lauderdale, Scott Kennedy, from Pompano Beach, R J Nakashian, of Palm Beach Gardens, Brandon Smith, of Lake Worth, Jackie Miller, of Naples, James Weick, from Fort Lauderdale, Scott Brassard, of Hollywood, Lee Booker, from Naples, Scott Turner, from Palm City, and Brent Bush, from Palm Beach Gardens.

To view complete results (adobe acrobat required) click here>

Organized in 1913, the Florida State Golf Association is a not-for-profit organization that governs amateur golf in the state of Florida. In addition to conducting 22 championships for amateur golfers in the state, the FSGA is responsible for more than 40 qualifying tournaments for USGA National Championships. The FSGA also maintains the USGA Handicap System, performs course ratings throughout Florida and assists in junior programs and scholarships.

ABOUT THE Florida Cup

Held every two years, the Florida Cup Matches vie 16 of the top amateurs from North Florida versus 16 of the top amateurs from South Florida. Using a Ryder-Cup format, the winner is determined by the number of points earned throughout the two days. Players are invited based on their performance from the previous two seasons. Some automatic selections are based on the FSGA two-year point's standings.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube