California Golf Writers Association Annual Awards
09 Feb 2006

By Pete Wlodkowski
Jason Gore accepts his award from former SF Chronicle Golf Writer Pat Sullivan
(photo credit: Scott Seward, NCGA)

The California Golf Writers Association awards dinner was held Tuesday night in Pebble Beach. I was fortunate enough to be in attendance along with hundreds of the state's top writers and media people, plus many other industry luminaries.

California golfers who received awards included Paula Creamer (Rookie-of-the-Year); Bob Eastwood (Hall of Fame Award); Bill Glasson (Hall of Fame Award); and Jason Gore (Player-of-the-Year). Creamer couldn't attend due to the start of the LPGA season, and the injury-plagued Glasson -- who recently made it through Q-School at age 46 -- was unfortunately starting out his season with another illness and also could not attend. Eastwood, who won several Tour events in the 80's including The Colonial, flew in for the ceremony and Jason Gore enjoyed a front row table with his old friend Carson Daly, who presented him with the award. It was a touching moment as the ever-humble Gore held back tears as he thanked his wife for giving him the encouragement to never give up. There is a lesson there for every player at every level.

Former USGA President Frank "Sandy" Tatum, who is more recently known for spearheading the renovation of Harding Park, received the 'Ambassador of Golf' award (and standing ovation). Several other speakers pointed out Tatum and the remarkable achievement of getting the job at Harding Park done. The complete list of award winners follows:

Fred Merrick Scholarship Award - Tyler Galbraith
Sally Pini Scholarship Award - Linda Ong
2005 GCSANC Superintendent of the Year - Bob Lapic (Orinda CC)
2005 NCPGA Professional of the Year - Jim Langley (Cypress Point)
Rookie of the Year - Paula Creamer
Player of the Year - Jason Gore
Golden State Award - Jim Hanny (CSU Stanislaus)
Hayward - Newland Media Award - Vince Mastracco
John Swanson "Good Guy" Award - Phil Weidinger
Hall of Fame Award - Bill Glasson
Hall of Fame Award - Bob Eastwood
Caddyshack Award - Tom Dreesen
Ambassador of Golf Award - Frank "Sandy" Tatum

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube