Mexico to host 2016 Women's World Team
ANTALYA, Turkey (Oct. 2, 2012) -- Mexico will host the 2016 World Amateur Team Championships, Golfweek has learned.

Mexico was awarded the biennial championship ahead of Colombia after a vote by International Golf Federation delegates at a meeting Oct. 2 here, site of this year's men's and women's WATC. The 2014 event will be in Japan.

Mexico and Colombia are long-standing members of the IGF. Delegates from both countries were among the 35 nations with representatives at a meeting in Washington in May 1958 arranged by the U.S. Golf Association and R&A to create the World Amateur Team Championships. Both countries were part of the original 32-member organization that made up the World Amateur Golf Council, the forerunner to the International Golf Federation.

Though Colombia has never hosted the World Amateur Team Championships, Mexico hosted the tournament in 1968. That event, the sixth staging, was held at Mexico Golf Club in Mexico City. A United States team of Bruce Fleisher, Vinny Giles, Jack Lewis Jr. and Dick Siderowf captained by former USGA president William C. Campbell took the title by a shot over Great Britain & Ireland, with Canada finishing third.

Mexico has not won the WATC. However, the men’s team has finished fifth on three occasions (1962, 1966 and 1970) and will try to better those results this week. The best finish by a team of Mexican women is joint sixth, in 1960. Mexico’s women’s team finished 18th in last week’s World Amateur Team at Gloria Golf Club in Antalya.

Results For Women's World Amateur Team Golf Championship (Espirito Santo Trophy)
1New ZealandLydia KoNew Zealand150070-69-67-68=274
T2FinlandKrista BakkerFinland100072-70-69-69=280
T2SpainCamilla HedbergSpain100070-72-70-68=280
T4TXLisa McCloskeyMontgomery, TX70070-71-67-73=281
T4KoreaHyo-Joo KimKorea70072-67-70-72=281

View full results for Women's World Amateur Team Golf Championship (Espirito Santo Trophy)

ABOUT THE Women's World Amateur Team

In 1958 the United States Golf Association asked The R&A to join them in sponsoring a world-wide amateur golf team event to be played biennially in non-Walker Cup years. Between 35 and 40 nations were represented at the first meeting and President Dwight D. Eisenhower presented the trophy which bears his name. The committee of the event was to be known as the World Amateur Golf Council and is now the International Golf Federation. Teams of four players from each country competed over 72 holes with the leading three scores from each round to count. The first competition was held between 29 nations at St Andrews, with Australia beating the United States in a play-off. In 2002 the format changed to teams of three with the two leading scores to count.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube