From left: Rhode Island's Brad Valois, Texas' Lucas Boyd, Pennsylvania's Nathan Smith

When the 2012 USGA Men's State Team Championship begins Wednesday at Galloway National Golf Club, there will be no shortage of compelling personalities and storylines to follow.

Chief among those great stories, of course, is the three-man team from Pennsylvania. Recently-crowned for the fourth time as the champion of the U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship, Nathan Smith leads the group from Penn. Interestingly enough, he'll be joined by Sean Knapp, who Smith defeated en route to his fourth title this past week. The two friends were on the 2009 championship team from Pennsylvania.

Texas won two straight State Team events in 2005 and 2007 but returns in 2012 with a brand new trio. This year, Clarke Kincaid, Aaron Hickman and Lucas Boyd will represent Texas.

Recent U.S. Mid-Am medalist Brad Valois will lead Rhode Island at Galloway National. The former URI golfer will be joined by Bobby Leopold and Charlie Blanchard, who knocked off Valois in the match play portion of the U.S. Mid-Am, on a formidable squad from the Ocean State.

The California trio of Andrew Biggadike, Paul Misko and John McClure brings plenty of experience and tournament talent to New Jersey. Could this be the year California breaks through?

Red-hot Michael Miller joins Max Buckley and Joe Saladino on a team from New York that may find itself near the top of the leaderboard.

For the full field and groupings, visit the link below and be sure to follow round-by-round coverage of the 2012 State Team Championship on amateurgolf.com

Results For U.S. Men's State Team Championship
1CAMichael MillerFresno, CA70072-69-68=209
T2FLJon VenezianoMount Dora, FL50074-73-70=217
T2PASean KnappOakmont, PA50072-73-72=217
T4CAAndrew BiggadikeBelmont, CA40075-73-70=218
T4IAJon OlsonAnkeny, IA40070-75-73=218

View full results for U.S. Men's State Team Championship

ABOUT THE USGA Men's State Team

The USGA State Team Championships grew out of the Association's Centennial Celebration in 1995, and have been held on an every-other- year basis since. 52 men’s teams (including teams from Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia) compete for the trophy named in honor of former USGA President James Hand. Fifty women’s teams compete for the trophy named for past USGA President Judy Bell.

State golf associations select three of their top non-college amateurs to represent them in this biennial team championship. The top two scores of the three players count toward the team total for each of the three days.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube