Southern California (SCGA) Four-Ball: Final Results

LAGUNA NIGUEL, CALIFORNIA (November 15, 2005) -- Tucker Brown and Brad Uptgraft dialed a 10 a year ago on the success meter, winning the SCGA Four-ball Championship in their first pairing as a team for golf competition.

They proved that victory was no idle flash in the pan at El Niguel CC, winning wire-to-wire and holding off the same team they were matched with last year on the final day, Bryan Hogan and Tyler Hurst.

Brown-Uptgraft shot 66-65 — 131 to become the fourth team in the tournament’s relatively short 15-year history to win the event twice. They are the first team to win back-to-back.

Uptgraft’s clutch birdie putt on the last hole won the 2004 event, but this time, the dramatics were seized by his partner. Brown made a 25-foot birdie putt at the ninth hole, a 12-footer at No. 15 and a 23-footer on 18 to finally break the tie with Hogan-Tyler, who had also fired a first-round 66 and kept pace with the winners throughout the second day’s competition.

The fact that Tucker-Uptgraft were able to win outright while sustaining a pace of a birdie every three holes over two days was testimony to their level of play. No fewer that 16 teams were within three strokes of one another after the first round. Those included former champs Jim Plotkin and Dennis Reiland, who made a big move of 64 in the second round to tie for third with the first-time pairing of reigning California Amateur champion Don DuBois and former SCGA Mid-Amateur winner Steve Lass.

Tournament Notes:

- Tucker Brown and Brad Uptgraft successfully defended their title, closing with a 7-under-par 65 on Tuesday to make it look easy.

- The pair carded eight birdies and one lone bogey on No. 17, a water guarded par-3 of 215 yards where the pin was tucked close to the hazard. They bounced back with a birdie on the tight par-4 18th to win by 2 over Tyler Hurst and Bryan Hogan.

* * *

Final results from the 15th SCGA Four-Ball Championship at El Niguel CC; Laguna Niguel (7,016 yards; par 72):

131 -- Tucker Brown, Newhall-Brad Uptgraft, Valencia, 66-65.

133 -- Bryan Hogan, Bakersfield-Tyler Hurst, Bakersfield, 66-67.

134 -- Dennis Reiland, Irvine-Jim Plotkin, Carlsbad 70-64; Don DuBois, Newport Beach-Steve Lass, Santa Barbara, 68-66.

135 -- John Mack, Alta Loma-Gary Havro, Claremont, 68-67.

136 -- Robert Funk, Canyon Lake-David Bartman, Brentwood, 69-67; Tim Hogarth, Northridge-John Pate, Santa Barbara, 68-68; Kevin Todey, Camarillo-Jason Pridmore, Ventura, 68-68; Riley Marshall, Valencia-Thad Coontz, Los Angeles, 67-69.

137 -- Eric Tabanico, San Marcos-Dean Siskowski, San Marcos, 70-67.

138 -- George Downing, Santa Barbara-David Siordia, Santa Barbara, 73-65; Jeff Campbell, Bakersfield-Mark Pavletich, Bakersfield, 68-70.

139 -- Todd Strible, San Marcos-Kemp Richardson, Laguna Niguel, 70-69; Jeff Pieri, Pasadena-Todd Pieri, Riverside, 73-66; Pete Roberts, San Marcos-Brian Bazzel, Carlsbad, 69-70; Mark Gardner, Redlands-Ted Lyford, Redlands, 69-70; Tim Moyers, Huntington Beach-Jon Levin, Huntington Beach, 68-71.

140 -- Scott Crawshaw, Pasadena-Jeffrey Payne, Garden Grove, 71-69; Erik Jarvey, Palmdale-Lawrence Jarvey, Palmdale, 72-68; Pete Wlodkowski, Carlsbad-Gary Young, Palm Desert, 72-68; Greg Grohs, Arcadia-Michael Christensen, Pasadena, 69-71.

141 -- Austin Graham, San Clemente-John Adams, San Clemente, 69-72.

142 -- Dan Hogan, Bakersfield-Dale Keene, Bakersfield, 70-72; Bill Borden, Alpine-Rick Winslow, La Quinta, 67-75.

143 -- King Wilder, Pasadena-Joe Sanders, La Quinta, 72-71; C.J Vuytowecz, Pauma Valley-Charles Vuytowecz, Pauma Valley, 70-73; Clarke Rheney, La Quinta-Gary Hardin, Fort Worth, TX, 72-71.

144 -- John Driscoll, Coto de Caza-Rick Nolan, Trabuco Canyon, 70-74; William Poirier, Vista-Doug Higgins, Oceanside, 73-71; Jim Ream Jr, Cerritos-Jerry Hutton, Long Beach, 73-71.

145 -- Dan Sullivan, Pasadena-Dave Fife, Westchester, 69-76; David Wooding, Riverside-Leslie O'Neal, San Diego, 74-71.

146 -- Scott Daniels, San Bernardino-John Thornes, Redlands, 76-70.

147 -- Jamie Estrada, Santa Ana-Michael Fox, Huntington Beach, 73-74; Pat McDonald, Oxnard-Rick Irwin, Oxnard, 74-73; Greg Merfeld, Agoura Hills-Jeff Johnston, Calabasas, 77-70.

148 -- Nick Lindesay, Newport Beach-Chris Rouk, Irvine, 74-74; Dean Paulson, Newport Beach-David Dubke, Huntington Beach, 75-73; Michael McCrary, San Marino-Rob Kring, Murrieta, 75-73.

150 -- Peter Ayers, Oceanside-Jeffrey Gipner, Oceanside, 73-77; Keith Clarke, Carlsbad-Sean Paolino, Carlsbad, 73-77; Scott Stewart, San Diego-Ross Edwards, Carlsbad, 76-74.

151 -- Chris Watters, San Diego-Eddie Feigner Jr, San Diego, 76-75.

152 -- Kyle Shoren, Hermosa Beach-Chad Turner, Torrance, 74-78; Louis Gonzalez, Palm Desert-Tom Breitfeller, Cathedral City, 76-76.

154 -- Patrick Carrigan, Alhambra-Neil Moore, Redondo Beach, 84-70.

156 -- Darryl Miller, San Diego-Michael Sisk, El Cajon, 75-81.

DQ -- Ryan Brotman, Rancho Cucamonga-Justin Crocker, Alta Loma, 80


This event is open to members with handicap indexes of 6.4 and below. Players will compete over 18 holes of qualifying four-ball stroke play to determine the 52 teams which advance to the championship. The Championship is conducted over 36 holes of stroke play.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube