Texas (TGA) South Regional Four Ball
19 Feb 2005
see also: Texas South Four-Ball Championship, Teravista Golf Club


SPRING, TX (February 20, 2005)--Tod Hensarling and David Pocknall started the final round three strokes ahead of their nearest competitors, but it took lengthy birdie putts on the final two holes by Hensarling for the duo to win the 2005 TGA South Region Four-Ball. Hensarling, from Houston, and Pocknall, from Katy, struggled for much of the final round over the Cypress Course at Cypresswood Golf Club in Spring. A chip-in birdie by Pocknall on the 12th hole helped the team get some energy, but they were still tied with two other teams going to the last hole. Hensarling hit his second shot to within 20 feet of the hole, then calmly sank the putt to secure the victory. Hensarling and Pocknall finished with a four under par 68 to go along with their opening round 64 for a 12 under par total of 132.

Leading the very interested onlookers around the 18th green were Giles Kibbe and Brad McMakin, both of Beaumont, who had the day’s low round with a seven under par 65 to finish at 11 under par 133. Robert McKinney and Trey Wilkinson, both of Houston, had a 66 to match Kibbe and McMakin at 133, and were watching closely as well. With a three-team playoff looking very possible, Hensarling made the putt and left those two teams holding the runner-up trophy. Tied for fourth another shot back were Chad Brandt and Randy Lee, and Kip Guidry and Damon Clary.

Bob Smith and Doug Escue won the Senior Division by two strokes over John McDonald and Jim Rath.

ABOUT THE Texas South Four-Ball

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers residing in the South Texas region (both players must reside in south region) as defined by the Texas PGA Sections (South of 31 degree parallel, Salado TX and south is break point). Applicants must have a certified USGA Handicap Index of 10.0 or less. Please reference “TGA Regional Tournament Eligibility” on www.txga.org for additional eligibility details.

Format: 36 holes of Four-Ball Stroke Play, with a Champion and Senior division.

Field limit: 40 teams

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube