Carlton Woods to Host the 2007 USGA State Team

FAR HILLS, NJ (November 9, 2005) -- The United States Golf Association has selected The Club at Carlton Woods in The Woodlands, Texas, to host the 2007 U.S. State Team Championships. The championships will be played from September 18-20.

The Club at Carlton Woods has quickly gained the reputation of one of the finest tournament venues in the state, having already hosted U.S. Open Local Qualifying in 2002 and 2003, U.S. Mid-Amateur Qualifying in 2004, and the Texas State Amateur (won by Zach Atkinson) in 2004.

Carlton Woods has two championship courses, the first designed by Jack Nicklaus in 2001, and a newly-opened Tom Fazio course.

"The Club at Carlton Woods is very excited about the opportunity to host such an event," said Mark Steinbauer, director of golf. "We are already starting the process to prepare to show everyone golf Texas style."

The team championships are the youngest of the USGA events, first introduced in 1995 and held on an every-other-year basis since. Each state is invited to submit a team entry of three players, with the top two scores counting toward the team total for each of the three days.

In 2005, 52 men’s teams (including squads from Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia) competed for the trophy named in honor of former USGA President James Hand. Fifty women’s teams competed for the trophy named for past USGA President Judy Bell. That event, held at Berkeley Hall in Bluffton, SC, saw Texas capture the men's championship for the second time, while Georgia won the women's championship, with Texas finishing third.

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011