2012 NCAA Men's Regionals field announced
Two teams from the SEC (Alabama and Auburn), three schools from the Pac-12 (USC, UCLA and California) and Texas from the Big 12 all received top seeds in their respective regions when the 2012 NCAA Men's Golf Regionals were announced Monday evening.

Texas is the top-ranked team in the Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings, while Alabama and Auburn are Nos. 2 and 3, respectively. UCLA and USC round out the top 5, while Cal is No. 7.

Ivy League champ Peter Williamson and Missouri's Jace Long will participate in their Regionals as individuals.

Note: The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the May 29-June 3 NCAA Championship at Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, Calif.

Here are this year's hopefuls (81 teams and 45 individuals) to dethrone back-to-back champions Augusta State:


University of Georgia GC, Athens

Teams: 1. Alabama, 2. North Florida, 3. New Mexico, 4. Georgia, 5. Iowa, 6. East Carolina, 7. Long Beach State, 8. Augusta State, 9. Wake Forest, 10. Houston, 11. Texas-Arlington, 12. N.C.-Wilmington, 13. Loyola (Md.)

Individuals: Joe David (Ole Miss), Jacobo Pastor (Charleston Southern), Trey Valentine (South Florida), Chad Ramey (Mississippi State), Sebastian Soderberg (Coastal Carolina), Brandon Pena (Florida Gulf Coast), James Beale (Mercer), David Denlinger (Charleston Southern), Kamito Hirai (Winthrop), Clay Myers (Jackson State)


Grandover Resort (East Course), Greensboro, N.C.

Teams: 1. Auburn, 2. UNLV, 3. Florida, 4. Duke, 5. Indiana, 6. Liberty, 7. SMU, 8. Texas Tech, 9. Tulsa, 10. Lamar, 11. Louisiana-Lafayette, 12. Charlotte, 13. George Washington, 14. Mount St. Mary’s

Individuals: Vaita Guillaume (Campbell), Sam Ryder (Stetson), Rhys Enoch (East Tennessee State), Casey O’Toole (Samford), Leo Garcia (Sacred Heart)


University of Michigan GC, Ann Arbor, Mich.

Teams: 1. USC, 2. Oregon, 3. Kent State, 4. Virginia, 5. Baylor, 6. Oklahoma State, 7. Kennesaw State, 8. TCU, 9. Purdue, 10. North Carolina State, 11. Notre Dame, 12. Ohio State, 13. Navy

Individuals: Peter Williamson (Dartmouth), Matt Thompson (Michigan), Sebastian MacLean (Xavier), Erik Van Rooyen (Minnesota), Dan Ellis (Michigan State), Tyler Merkel (Ball State), Charlie Bull (Akron), Chad Ebert (Wis.-Green Bay), William Park (Army), Greg Matthias (Delaware)


The Club at Olde Stone, Bowling Green, Ky.

Teams: 1. UCLA, 2. Arkansas, 3. Texas A&M, 4. Clemson, 5. North Texas, 6. Chattanooga, 7. Memphis, 8. Virginia Tech, 9. Northwestern, 10. Iowa State, 11. Colorado State, 12. Jacksonville State, 13. Penn, 14. Alabama State

Individuals: 1. Jace Long (Missouri), 2. Justin Dorward (Louisville), 3. Adam Hofmann (Vanderbilt), 4. Emilio Cuartero (Missouri), 5. Anthony Bradley, (Austin Peay)


Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club, Norman, Okla.

Teams: 1. Texas, 2. Georgia Tech, 3. Washington, 4. Florida State, 5. Oklahoma, 6. St. Mary’s (Calif.), 7. Illinois, 8. Middle Tennessee, 9. South Carolina, 10. San Diego, 11. Arizona, 12. Sacramento State, 13. IUPUI , 14. Loyola (Ill.)

Individuals: 1. Martin Simonsen (Texas-El Paso), 2. Kevin Lucas, Nevada, 3. Mitchell McLeroy (Stephen F. Austin), 4. Scott Willman (Nebraska), 5. Alfred Kerstis (Arkansas-Little Rock)


Stanford GC, Stanford, Calif.

Teams: 1. California, 2. Stanford, 3. San Diego State, 4. Central Florida, 5. LSU, 6. Alabama-Birmingham, 7. Wichita State, 8. Tennessee, 9. Oregon State, 10. Southeastern Louisiana, 11. San Francisco, 12. San Jose State, 13. UC Davis

Individuals: 1. Zac Blair (BYU), 2. Justin Shin (New Mexico State), 3. Josh Anderson, Pepperdine, 4. Alex Edfort (Pacific), 5. Justin Keiley (BYU), 5. Allan Jun (UC Irvine), 6. Mason Casper (Utah Valley), 7. Johnny MacArthur, Pepperdine, 8. Jarred Bossio (Idaho), 9. Zachery Fullerton, New Mexico State

Results For NCAA Division I National Golf Championship
1BelgiumThomas PietersBelgium150069-68-71--208
T2FranceJulien BrunFrance100072-72-67--211
T2FLTyler McCumberPonte Vedra Beach, FL100068-71-72--211
T4CAPatrick CantlayLos Alamitos, CA70074-72-66--212
T4CanadaCorey ConnersCanada70068-75-69--212

View full results for NCAA Division I National Golf Championship

ABOUT THE NCAA Division I Championship

30 teams and 6 individuals not on a qualifying team make up the field for the championship of NCAA Division I women's golf.

After 72 holes of stroke play, the individual champion is crowned, and the low 8 teams advance to match play to determine the team champion.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube